Security

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-29-2013

radius server with controller captive portal

Hi,

 

   We are trying to authenticate users having aruba controller captive portal and all the user will authenticate by external Radius server

i tryed to add/select the Radius server while creating the Guest SSID but the users are not authenticated by the radius server.

 

can any one guige me in this... Radius is working fine i diagnose it from the controller.

 

i want captive portal with External Radius server.

 

thanks

Super Contributor II
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎09-26-2012

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

Assalam o Alaikum Bilal,

You mean to say captive portal page is showing but users authentications getting failed right?
Thanks & Regards
Syed Murad Ali
ACMP ACMA CCNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-29-2013

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

W/Salam,

 

     Yes captive portal is there but i want external radius server user to authenticate with it ..... :)

Super Contributor II
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎09-26-2012

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

Have you added external Radius server into server group and that server group is properly assigned to the correct AAA profile?

Thanks & Regards
Syed Murad Ali
ACMP ACMA CCNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-29-2013

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

 

 

Yes i have added it to server Group and also add it to AAA profile.... in Guest SSID

Super Contributor II
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎09-26-2012

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

Things that I would check for this case
client is able to associate and get an IP address
the correct roles are being assigned
are you able to get past captive-portal
Can you ping the radius server from controller
do you test the authentication by providing username/password in controller?
Thanks & Regards
Syed Murad Ali
ACMP ACMA CCNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-29-2013

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

Yes i ckeck all these thing i can ping the radius server and clients are having captive portal as well but when i type the user and password that are present in my radius server it gives Authentication Error and if i check this user from Controller diagnostic its authenticated successfuly.

 

thanks

Bilal

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,822
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: radius server with controller captive portal

[ Edited ]

Muhammad Bilal,

 

The server group that authenticates the Captive Portal is an exception that is located in the Captive Portal Authentication Profile, not the AAA profile.  You can find it by going to Configuration> Security> Authentication> L3 Authentication> Captive Portal Authentication.  You should be able to find your Captive Portal Authentication Profile there.  Add your server group that contains your radius server under that specific profile to force your users to authenticate to that server.

 

Also on your Radius server, make sure that PAP is enabled, because that is what Captive Portal users use to authenticate.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: