Technology Blog

Factory reset Mobility Controller managed by Mobility Master

Guest Blogger

With ArubaOS 8, a new appliance is introduced: the Aruba Mobility Master. An Aruba Mobility Master appliance enables full centralized management in a controller-based environment and adds some awesome features. More information on Aruba Mobility Master can be found here.


A Mobility Master appliance takes care of all the control-plane features within your deployment and provides better user experience, flexible deployment, simplified operations and enhanced performance.


Mobility Controllers are added to the Mobility Master as regular controllers and all configuration for the Mobility Controllers is done on the Mobility Master console to provide centralized management.


The question arises: is it as easy as it was to factory reset a Mobility Controller managed by a Mobility Master?


The answer: yes it is, but you need to take one extra step!!


I took a Mobility Controller from the shelve and wanted it to get it configured as a standalone controller with ArubaOS 8. The controller was running 6.5 code, but the backup partition already contained an 8.0 code image and was previously managed by a Mobility Master during a workshop. I upgraded the 8.0 code image to the latest 8.2 code image and booted the controller from that partition.


I tried to log in with the credentials from the 6.5 code, but that wasn’t working anymore and I had no clue with credentials were used during the 8.0 workshop. So I started with the default password recovery which is very simple and straightforward. Connect to the console with username “password” and password “forgetme!“.


Normally, you would configure a new management user and “write erase” the configuration, but this is by default not possible in this scenario. Once you enter “config terminal” you receive the following message.


(controller) *#configure t
This controller is managed by a Mobility Master.
Configuration changes can only be performed on the Mobility Master.

Okay, so maybe I can do a “write erase” directly….


(controller) *#write erase
All the configuration will be deleted and the controller will be reloaded. Press ‘y’ to proceed : [y/n]: y
You do not have permission to execute this command

No, so what’s next? The clue is the command “local-config enable


(controller) *#local-config enable
Warning: ‘local-configure enable’ should only be used for debugging. This will disableAuto-Rollback feature. Please use the command ‘local-configure disable’ after you are done.
Configuration Mode Is Enabled.

Now you have the option to enter “config terminal” and add a new management user, log in with the new user and “write erase” the configuration. Next, I rebooted the controller and started with a fresh, factory default controller with ArubaOS 8 software.


(controller) *#configure t
Enter Configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z

(controller) *(config) #mgmt-user admin root
Re-Type Password:************
(controller) ^*(config) #end
(controller) ^*#write mem

Saving Configuration…

Partial configuration for /mm/mynode
Contents of : /flash/ccm/partial/0/p=sc=mynode.cfg
mgmt-user admin root d442d5b0011f409d930efc3f1a4409d5abb80c1a47e5247626
Configuration Saved.
(controller) *#exit

User: admin
(controller) *#write erase
All the configuration will be deleted and the controller will be reloaded. Press ‘y’ to proceed : [y/n]: y
Write Erase successful

System will now restart!

 I hope you have found the blog useful and reach out with any additional questions on the community or on Twitter @@rene_booches


Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Read all about it! If it’s happening now, it’s in the community.

Check out the latest blogs from your community team, the community experts and other industry sources.