Training, Certification & Career

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Get more information about the HPE Aruba Networking technical training and certification programs. Network with your colleagues to improve your career, and post job availability for network engineers within your organization.
Expand all | Collapse all

Finding Your Wavelength in Wireless: Best tools for the job?

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Finding Your Wavelength in Wireless: Best tools for the job?

Posted Nov 24, 2014 04:28 PM

Okay.. Picture this. I’m making a home lab. This is my first time, and I’m just getting into wireless – but I already know that I want to become an expert.

What tools would you recommend to start on that ladder? What did you find most useful to learn on? Then which had the best features as your expertise has increased?

I’m trying to think of the long-term and not just a band-aid. Band-Aid = Shows me the spectrum and which channels are being the most used, but has no ways of going deeper or addressing the overflow into one channel over another. 

I have also discovered, for myself, that in certain things I am technically inept and need some hand-holding. I’m really good at concepts, but the hands-on implementation takes some help. 

I can Google some resources, but wanted to ask: Do you already have some that you would recommend?

• 2.  RE: Finding Your Wavelength in Wireless: Best tools for the job?
    Best Answer

Posted Nov 26, 2014 03:44 AM

It sounds that by wireless, you mean RF?

A good tool for analyzing the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz spectrum are something like the Airmagnet from Fluke: http://www.flukenetworks.com/enterprise-network/wireless-network/airmagnet-spectrum-xt . This is of course very expensive equipment, but to be able to really get into the spectrum, you really do need specialized profesional equipment.