Reply
Occasional Contributor I
ja4ed
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

RAP2 Home Office Problem

I've recently setup a RAP-2WG for use at a home office for one of our users.  Our Corporate SSID is broadcast from the RAP2 in the user's home and he can connect and access all the corporate resources he needs.  That part is working perfectly.

But, his DSL modem that the RAP uses to access the internet is still broadcasting his Home SSID.  When he tries to connect to the Home SSID with his personal wireless devices, it fails.  I noticed on our controller that his Home SSID was classified as a Rogue AP so I changed it to Valid, but he still fails to connect.  Message six in this thread (http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Security-WIDS-WIPS-and-Aruba-ECS/Home-Office-Security/m-p/3631/highlight/true#M134) indicates that he should have no problem connecting to his Home SSID.

Is there anything else, besides setting his Home SSID to Valid, that I need to do to allow him to once again connect to his Home SSID?  Thanks.

Moderator
cjoseph
Posts: 12,142
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

Can he connect if he turns off the RAP2WG?

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering
Occasional Contributor I
ja4ed
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

I finally heard back from the user.  He was able to connect to the Home SSID with the RAP2 turned off.  He was able to stay connected to the Home SSID after the RAP was power back on.  But if he disconnected from the Home SSID, he could not reconnect unless the RAP is turned off.

 

 

Occasional Contributor II
nickfalz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-27-2011

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

We have seen some funny things (this being one of them) when the user connects their home router to E1 instead of E0. Not sure if this is possible in your environment, but might be something to check.

Occasional Contributor I
ja4ed
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem


nickfalz wrote:

We have seen some funny things (this being one of them) when the user connects their home router to E1 instead of E0. Not sure if this is possible in your environment, but might be something to check.


Thanks for the tip, but I double-checked and the home router is connected to E0 on the RAP.

Moderator
cjoseph
Posts: 12,142
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

While the RAP2 is connected, type "show log wireless 100" to see if there is any ids/ips activity...

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering
Occasional Contributor I
ja4ed
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2012

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

I'm much more comfortable with the WebUI, but I was able to show the log.  I didn't see any entries from the RAP in question.  If you want to see that output, I can attach it.

Moderator
cjoseph
Posts: 12,142
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: RAP2 Home Office Problem

You should only do this when:

 

- The end-user is attempting to connect to his "other" WLAN.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering