Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

Hi:

We have one ssid across campus using 802.1x. Users authenticate to AD and get different roles based on staff/student/etc.

 

I'm having problems in one dorm, and I'd like to try going to 20Mhz channels only in that dorm. But I don't want to affect the rest of campus.

 

is it possible to create two wlan ht-ssid-profiles, and attach them to different wlan ssid-profiles, each of which are broadcasting the same ssid?

 

I'm guessing that roaming could be an issue, but if I restrict the 20Mhz only channels to one dorm only, I'm thinking that won't be a concern.

 

Or is there a better way to do this?

Thoughts?

 

As always, many thanks,

Tony

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,460
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

[ Edited ]

Do you have ap-groups per building?


If so, you can just create new ARM profiles and use them for those buildings.

 

Also, it is very common to use 20 MHz channels in parts of a campus and 40 in others.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

thank you! I had hoped there was an easier way.

 

If I understand correctly I'd need to create:

 

a new rf-arm profile:

rf arm-profile "20Mhz-Only"
  no 80MHz-support
  40MHz-allowed-bands "None"

 

create rf profiles referencing above:

rf dot11a-radio-profile "20Mhz-only-a-prof"
  arm-profile "20Mhz-Only"

rf dot11g-radio-profile "20Mhz-only-g-prof"
  arm-profile "20Mhz-Only"

 

then create a new ap group referencing the rf dot11 radio profiles:


ap-group "Just-20Mhz"
   virtual-ap "College1"
   virtual-ap "College-Gaming"
   virtual-ap "College-Guest"
   dot11a-radio-profile "20Mhz-only-a-prof"
   dot11a-radio-profile "20Mhz-only-a-prof"

 

Does that seem correct?

 

Thanks,

Tony

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,460
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

Yes. You can use the clone command to make it a bit easier.

 

# ap-group Just-20MHz
(AP group)# clone <old-ap-group>
(AP group)# dot11a-radio-profile 20Mhz-only-a-prof
(AP group)# dot11g-radio-profile 20Mhz-only-g-prof

 Then you can just change the profiles you need to.


You can also use the clone command with the arm profiles at the CLI.

 

 

 

Also, long-term, you should consider doing ap-groups by building. It makes things much easier to manage.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

Wow!

The 'clone' command is my new friend!

 

Thanks again, Tim.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,460
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

It's a great command and can be used in many different places (unforunately only in the CLI currently).


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

I created the arm profile shown and applied it to the APs in that dorm.

I noticed that most (but not all) of the APs came up on channel 161.

 

This might be OK, but it looks a little suspicious, since many of the APs can see each other.

 

Is there an ARM setting that might be prohibiting proper adaptive frequency selection?

 

Thanks,

Tony

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-27-2012

Re: 20 Mhz and/or 40 Mhz on same ssid-profile

Never mind...

I found the "Client Aware" checkbox, and unchecked that for a little while to give the APs time to jostle around to different channels.

 

Thanks,

Tony

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: