Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

Greetings all, I have a 620 and trying to get a cable modem attached to the uplink to get internet, but no dice for some reason.

 

I used the following as a reference:

 

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Command-of-the-Day/COTD-Connect-your-Aruba-Controller-to-a-Cable-Modem/m-p/951#M64

 

but still a bit stuck. VLAN 20 isn't pulling an IP for some reason.

 

My observations and questions:

  • Created VLAN 20 dedicated to the uplink, and only port 1/8 is assigned to this VLAN
  • VLAN 20 is showing UP, but it is not pulling an IP address from the cable modem
     (see show ip interface brief and show ip route below)
  • #ip default-gateway import isn't working for me per the reference above
  • Is trunking required? I enabled that on 1/8 and allowed all VLANs to access it

 

 

uplink-1.jpg

 

(Cocoa-620) #show ip interface brief

Interface                   IP Address / IP Netmask        Admin   Protocol
vlan 1                    172.16.0.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      up  
vlan 20                     unassigned / unassigned        up      up
vlan 100                  10.1.100.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      up  
vlan 200                  10.1.200.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      up  
loopback                    unassigned / unassigned        up      up  
mgmt                        unassigned / unassigned        down    down

DHCP is enabled on VLAN(s) 20

 

// ----------------------------------------- //

 

(Cocoa-620) #show ip route

Codes: C - connected, O - OSPF, R - RIP, S - static
       M - mgmt, U - route usable, * - candidate default

Gateway of last resort is Imported from DHCP to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
Gateway of last resort is Imported from CELL to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
Gateway of last resort is Imported from PPPOE to network 0.0.0.0 at cost 10
C    172.16.0.0 is directly connected, VLAN1
C    10.1.100.0 is directly connected, VLAN100
C    10.1.200.0 is directly connected, VLAN200

 

 

uplink-4.jpg

 

uplink-2.jpg

 

uplink-3.jpg

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,335
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

If the cable modem is plugged directly into port 8, then the port should be access vlan 20, not trunk.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

Some cable modems remember only the last device that plugged into them and need to be rebooted to accept a new device.  Try rebooting.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

[ Edited ]

HUH! OK, so if you notice, in the 1/7 port config, "Firewall Policy" section, "uplink-firewall" was selected. Once I removed that, it picked up a public IP address from the cable modem!

 

(Cocoa-620) #show ip interface brief

Interface                   IP Address / IP Netmask        Admin   Protocol
vlan 100                  10.1.100.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      up  
vlan 1                    172.16.0.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      down
vlan 20                 98.122.254.254 / 255.255.240.0     up      up  
vlan 200                  10.1.200.254 / 255.255.255.0     up      up  
loopback                    unassigned / unassigned        up      up  
mgmt                        unassigned / unassigned        down    down

DHCP is enabled on VLAN(s) 20

 

A few more questions before (hopefully) success:

  • Although now that VLAN 20 (uplink) has an IP address, does it need routing rules? I haven't set those, but looks like cjoseph's requirement (see this doc) to add default gateway and DNS importing is needed. Maybe manually set a static route to the cable modem's gateway?

(Cocoa-620) (config) #ip default-gateway import
% Incomplete command.

 

(Cocoa-620) (config) #dns-server import
                                 ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

 

 

ip-routes.jpg

 

 

  • I also removed what I thought was a firewall. I assume that's bad.

 

Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

Another data point:

 

I am able to resolve DNS and ping out to 'clock.redhat.com' from the console, but cannot do either from any clients that were given DHCP addresses by the controller - wired, or wireless (should be the same, they are on the same VLAN with same DHCP rules).

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,819
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working

What is the role of those clients? Do you have IP Nat inside on your client VLAN?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working


cjoseph wrote:
What is the role of those clients? Do you have IP Nat inside on your client VLAN?

I did not have Source NAT enabled for any of the VLAN interfaces. Assuming this needs to be enabled for all private VLANs, including the uplink VLAN? Good call!

Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

Re: 620: Getting uplink and cable modem working


cjoseph wrote:
What is the role of those clients? Do you have IP Nat inside on your client VLAN?

cjoseph++

 

I owe you a beer if you are ever in Durham, NC. My employee WLAN works perfectly, now need to tackle the Guest with captive portal.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: