Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 1,409
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

AOS 6.3.1.6 (AP-115 reporting Radar ?!) What cause it ? please advise

[ Edited ]

Hi AirHeads,

Please advise,

I encouter an issue (7220 + AP-115-IL units)

Here is the log of the issue:

 

sapd[940]: <404076> <WARN> |AP 18:64:72:c2:be:e4@172.16.0.35 sapd| AM 18:64:72:ab:ee:50: Radar detected on interface wifi0, channel 56, typeid 37
May 9 03:09:48    sapd[940]: <404088> <WARN> |AP 18:64:72:c2:be:e4@172.16.0.35 sapd| AM 18:64:72:ab:ee:50: ARM HT Radar Detected Trigger Current Channel old 56- new 52+/5
May 9 03:09:49    sapd[940]: <404103> <WARN> |AP 18:64:72:c2:be:e4@172.16.0.35 sapd| AM 18:64:72:ab:ee:50: ARM No alternate channel available after radar detection converting to APM mode Current Channel 52+ Current TxPower 5

Regulatory Domain profile:

1.PNG

I disabled VHT + 80Mhz support ,And working with 40Mhz only in 5Ghz (Common deployment)

2.PNG

3.PNG

4.PNG

5.PNG

 

 

What cause it ?

 

Please advise.

 

Thanks.

 

Me

 

 

 

 

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,539
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AOS 6.3.1.6 (AP-115 reporting Radar ?!) What cause it ? please advise

Avoid using DFS channels.  You could have radar, or triggered false positives.  Avoid that by NOT using DFS channels.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: AOS 6.3.1.6 (AP-115 reporting Radar ?!) What cause it ? please advise

hi kdisc98

 

Alternatively, if you have to use DFS/are in a DFS only location then I would recommend that you monitor the ARM history (or the logs) and there are APs having problems on say 56- then you can consider a couple of courses of action:

 

>> anything interesting about the location of the APs ? I have a customer that has an office located near a commerical waterway, all the APs along the window side of the building towards the waterway will trip radar on the 52-64 range of channels. Hence, i created a new reg domain profile for those edge APs and made them unable to use DFS.

 

>> if just one AP, consider forcing it to another channel as a workaround

 

>> if many/all APs, maybe have to remove the channel pair all together from the allowed 40Mhz chanells

 

If you really have a radar issue then you may also find that ARM sees that channel as more attractive due to fewer APs on it, so it does frequently put the AP back to the channel, so some sort of action should be taken per above

 

regards

-jeff

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: