Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

We have two controllers; one with a local.

 

When this AP stopped broadcasting (still had power and ethernet LEDs), I took it down to reset. 

 

When I CLI into it gets IP address and finds a controller. At this point i don't care which one. I don't see it in the Provisioning page. It does show up Monitoring > Network > All Access Points page in the default group with status "down". The radio data says "undefined" on that page as well.

 

Does this mean that the unit is bad?

 

I've purged/save/reset it. I've cleared it from the All Access Points page. It just never shows up for provisioning.

 

Thanks!

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

[ Edited ]

It also says in its CLI "Failed FIPS KAT".

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,326
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

Is your AP or controller a FIPS model? (look for F1 in the model)

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

It's a 3600 model. I didn't see F1 anywhere.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,800
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

I would plug a console cable into the access point and record the output when it comes up.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎03-16-2014

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

First easy step log into controlelr (type Show AP database) and check about this access also is the Ap and controller in diffrent subnets,Do you enbale Option 43 in you DHCP request if controller and AP are in diffrent subnets after makeing sure about those things use a conole to AP and check the whole boot process to see what is actully happen.

Islam Zidan │ Professional Services Engineer | ACCP,ACMP,CWDP,CWNA,CCNP,MCITP,Competia A+
If you Found My Post Helping you kindly Give KUDOS and if it solved your question Kindly hit Accept as a solution box.
MVP
Posts: 2,951
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

[ Edited ]

Do you know how the AP find the controller IP?

 

Go to the console like Collin told you

 

Check if you get a message that it cannot find the controller or the switch

 

If he cannot contact the controller then you should check how the APS on your network find the controller...

 

You have some options, and its really possible that all the aps finds the ip of the controller in the same way


Here are the ways

 

1-Manually: to check if your AP its manually configured you can check out the others APs...

Go to ap installation-->then click privsion on any of the APS and check on master discovery options...  In here check if its manually defined the IP address of the controller

If you find that the other aps got the IP of the controller here then thats the problem.... you must manually put the controller ip in the AP so it can find the controller... you can check this and it will tell you how to do it

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Unified-Wired-Wireless-Access/TechNote-AP-Provisioning-July-MHC/m-p/178466#M37094

 

The other options are dynamically...

You got the easiest way which is with DNS

In this you should be sure that you got the record in your dns server of aruba-master and that record must of the IP of the controller...

If you do not have that record then its possible that is not configure this way... but i strongly recommend you do if you don thave it that way.

If you got the record of aruba-master on the DNS server on the forward zone, and you still not looking the AP on the list then check that the DHCP server if giving the correct DNS servers...

 

The other ways are with ADP with broadcast which will automatically dyscover the controller  if he is on the same vlan of the IP of the controller 

 

And the other its with ADP multicast but thats really rarely use....

 

And the last one is with the DHCP option 43... and you should check on the DHCP if you got this option configured.... i rarely see that one as well...

 

The most common used are statically and DNS.

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

We have two masters on our network, accessible from any building in the WAN. It keeps finding the master IP address ending in .48, but I need it on .50. When I log onto either, it doesn't show up in the Installation page. It only shows up in the Monitoring > All Access Points as "down" status. I have the option to clear it, but that doesn't allow it to come up on a reboot.

 

Starting watchdog process...

Getting an IP address...

ag7100_ring_alloc Allocated 4800 at 0x803cc000

ag7100_ring_alloc Allocated 3024 at 0x86951000

AG7100: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7014

ATHRF1: Port 0, Neg Success

ATHRF1: unit 0 phy addr 0 ATHRF1: reg0 3100

AG7100: unit 0 phy is up...RGMii 1000Mbps full duplex

AG7100: pll reg 0x18050010: 0x110000  AG7100: cfg_1: 0x1ff0000

AG7100: cfg_2: 0x3ff

AG7100: cfg_3: 0x18001ff

AG7100: cfg_4: 0xffff

AG7100: cfg_5: 0xfffef

AG7100: done cfg2 0x7215 ifctl 0x0 miictrl 0x22 

Writing 4

10.1.100.143 255.255.0.0 10.1.255.254

Running ADP...Done. Master is 10.1.10.48

ath_hal: 0.9.17.1 (AR5416, AR9380, REGOPS_FUNC, PRIVATE_DIAG, WRITE_EEPROM, 11D)

ath_rate_atheros: Copyright (c) 2001-2005 Atheros Communications, Inc, All Rights Reserved

ath_rate_atheros: Aruba Networks Rate Control Algorithm

ath_dfs: Version 2.0.0

Copyright (c) 2005-2006 Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved

ath_spectrum: Version 2.0.0

Copyright (c) 2005-2006 Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved

ath_dev: Copyright (c) 2001-2007 Atheros Communications, Inc, All Rights Reserved

ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (Atheros/multi-bss)

ath_pci: cannot reserve PCI memory region

ath_ahb: 0.9.4.5 (Atheros/multi-bss)

 

Starting FIPS KAT ... Failed FIPS KAT.

AP rebooted Fri Dec 31 16:05:21 PST 1999; SAPD: Reboot after successful image upgrade

shutting down watchdog process (nanny will restart it)...

 

Is this enough of the boot log?

MVP
Posts: 2,951
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

[ Edited ]

Why you need it to be the other master? i mean the .50?

 

Anyways you can always configure it manually

log in the apboot and issue the command

setenv master <ipaddress of the controller>

setenv serverip <ip address of the controller>

saveenv

After that you can reboot the AP and it should look after the .50 controller,(he willl still get the ip of the AP  by dhcp)

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: AP 105 getting IP address and controller, but doesn't show up to be provisioning.

I cleared it again and now it's master is 10.1.10.50's local, .49. I can't find it anywhere on the controller master or local.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: