Wireless Access

Reply
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

AP-105s in Reboot Loop

[ Edited ]

Deploying 4 new APs to a branch site for a customer (local 650 controller).   The environment is 6.1.2.5

 

All the APs initially came up and did an image upgrade.  Then upon reboot, they all get in a loop, giving the following error.    I have a case open and am awaiting support, but figured I'd see if anyone had any thoughts.  There was one post on this in the past, but it was deemed a hardware issue in that case.  I am finding it hard to believe that 4 out of 4 APs had hardware problems on delivery.

 

Testing TPM... TPM driver running in 3204 mode
i2c_adapter i2c-1: sendbytes: error - bailout.
i2c_adapter i2c-1: sendbytes: error - bailout.
Failed -- Rebooting
killall: nanny: no process killed
killall: sapd: no process killed
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
Sending SIGKILL to all processes.

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

Clembo,

In the console boot process can you check what AOS the APs were coming up on ?

Do you have other working APs on the same segment ?

Can you check the show ap license-usage ?

And on the controller can you check the show log system all ?

Is cpsec on ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,280
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

[ Edited ]
 


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

I don't think an RMA will fix this, but a SW upgrade may.

 

See attached field bulleting about AP-105 TPM issues with specific SW versions.

/Onno
Aruba
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

Thank you.   I got the same bulletin from a local SE earlier tonight.     I don't recall ever seeing this in any release notes; I wish some of these bulletins were available to partners....would have saved us a lot of time.   Instead we have to RMA all the APs and upgrade code to avoid this in the future.

 

 

For what it's worth vfabian, there are 100+ AP-105s; but they were manufactured prior the serial numbers in the field bulletin.\

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Aruba
Posts: 1,377
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

If an AP is in this state already (SAME errors), try upgrading the controller and using this string of commands from the AP local console to factory default the AP.

 

purgeenv,

saveenv,

factory_reset,

saveenv

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

 


clembo wrote:

Thank you.   I got the same bulletin from a local SE earlier tonight.     I don't recall ever seeing this in any release notes; I wish some of these bulletins were available to partners....would have saved us a lot of time.   Instead we have to RMA all the APs and upgrade code to avoid this in the future.

 

 

For what it's worth vfabian, there are 100+ AP-105s; but they were manufactured prior the serial numbers in the field bulletin.\


Thanks Clembo that's good to know...

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Aruba
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

Typically, field bulletins are not pushed out actively, but they're available to partners and customers on the Aruba support website.

 

/Onno Harms

Aruba Networks

/Onno
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: AP-105s in Reboot Loop

Where on the support site would I see this as a partner (or customer)?   I may be missing the obvious, but I can't seem to see it.   Are they just searchable, or are they in a separate listed format?

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: