Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

AP 120

The data sheet  on the AP 120 says "Software-configurable single radio capable of supporting 2.4 GHz or
5 GHz" so how do you do it?

 

Thanks

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎10-05-2011

Re: AP 120

It will have to be done on the controller.  I think it's in the AP system profile or RF profile.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: AP 120

Hi Salvi

 

I've check the AP system profile and "g" RF band has been selected.  But when I look at the AP's only half of them are running on 2.4 gig

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 120

Paulk,

 

"show ap active" will tell you how many APs are indeed on the 2.4ghz as opposed to the 5ghz.  It will also tell you exactly what model you have.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: AP 120

Hi cjoseph,

 

Atfter running the command "show ap active" I have 13 120's, 4 are on 11g, 7 are 11a and 2 are Air moinitors

 



Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 120

[ Edited ]

paulk wrote:

Hi cjoseph,

 

Atfter running the command "show ap active" I have 13 120's, 4 are on 11g, 7 are 11a and 2 are Air moinitors

 






 

In the AP system profile, the RF band parameter determines if what band a single-band AP like the AP120 ends up on.

The radio profile determines what is an Air monitor.

 

There could also be an AP-specific configuration that only applies to each AP.  Under configuration> wireless> AP installation, see if there is any AP-specific configs.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: AP 120

There are no AP-specific configs

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 120

So you probably have different ap-groups, then and those control what band the access point broadcasts on, or even if it is an Air Monitor or not.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: AP 120

True, we have serval groups bit all the 120's are in the same group and in the same location

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,274
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 120

[ Edited ]

please open a support case if you have not done so already.

 

 

EDIT:  Before you do that, use the "show ap config" command to see where your AP is getting its config.  The "source" column will tell you.

 

(host) # show ap config ap-name AP135

Configuration for AP name "AP135" AP group "default"
----------------------------------------------------
Parameter                                                       802.11g                         802.11a                Source
---------                                                       -------                         -------                ------
LMS IP                                                          N/A                             N/A                    ap system-profile "default"
LMS IPv6                                                        N/A                             N/A                    ap system-profile "default"
Backup LMS IP                                                   N/A                             N/A                    ap system-profile "default"
Backup LMS IPv6                                                 N/A                             N/A                    ap system-profile "default"
LMS Preemption                                                  Disabled                        Disabled               ap system-profile "default"
LMS Hold-down Period                                            600 sec                         600 sec                ap system-profile "default"
Number of IPSEC retries                                         360                             360                    ap system-profile "default"
LED operating mode (11n APs only)                               normal                          normal                 ap system-profile "default"
RF Band                                                         g                               g                      ap system-profile "default"
Double Encrypt                                                  Disabled                        Disabled               ap system-profile "default"
Root AP                                                         Disabled                        Disabled               ap system-profile "default"
Native VLAN ID                                                  1                               1                      ap system-profile "default"

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: