Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

AP 325

Hello,

 

Happy new year!

I have the AP 325 and the 7005 controller and I'm trying to build a lab demo. I have configured the controller based on the Aruba Bootcamp of the ACMP training manual.

However, I am facing a problem when I connect the AP to the controller.

Isn't it supposed to get the IP directly from the DHCP settings configured on the controller? If so how can I access the console through RJ45 cable?

 

MVP
Posts: 4,227
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP 325

Did you configured a DHCP pool for the VLAN assigned on the port the AP is connected to ?

Get Outlook for iOS
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: AP 325

Yes basedon the manual, one of teh VLANs I should create is VLAN 13 with ip 192.168.1.1, nat not enabled and no ports assigned and then in the dhcp settings I choose Act as a server with a network IP 192.168.1.0.

And even when I assigned the vlan to the port where the ap is connected, the green light on the ap keeps going on and off like it's not getting an IP.

How can I access this ap and know its IP?

MVP
Posts: 4,227
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP 325

You can either console into the AP or from the controller CLI you can run the show IP DHCP bindings to see the leases.

Make sure the DHCP service is enabled as well.
https://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-Based-WLANs/How-to-configure-a-DHCP-server-on-the-Aruba-controller/ta-p/185894


Get Outlook for iOS
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: AP 325

The show ip dhcp binding command is not showing anything...

MVP
Posts: 4,227
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP 325

Did you follow the instructions on how to enable DHCP on the controller on the link I provided ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: AP 325

I have the below showing in the dhcp window and that's what I added before from the manual. I don't know what could be missing!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 325

Is the controller management subnet on the 192.168.1.x VLAN?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: AP 325

I have created a vlan 13 and made it to act as a server  in the DHCP seeting with a network 192.168.1.0 default router of 192.168.1.1 and DNS server 10.254.1.21

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: