Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-20-2012

AP 92

I have an AP 92 mounted indoors connected to 2x2 5617 antenna outdoor, should in be able to see a signal (beacon) from the unit even it it does not connect with our remote outdoor AP 175 with 2x2 5010 antenna? I'm using inSSIDer 2.0 to look for the AP.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: AP 92

How are you provisioning the AP-92? Is this a mesh point? I'm confused as to why you mentioned the AP-175, unless you are using the AP-92 as a mesh point/bridge. Is that the case?

Thanks,

Zach Jennings
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,812
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 92


Ken H wrote:

I have an AP 92 mounted indoors connected to 2x2 5617 antenna outdoor, should in be able to see a signal (beacon) from the unit even it it does not connect with our remote outdoor AP 175 with 2x2 5010 antenna? I'm using inSSIDer 2.0 to look for the AP.


Very interesting.  The AP-92 is a single-radio AP, but the 5617 is a 5ghz antenna.  By default, single radio APs only broadcast and receive on the 2.4ghz network, unless in the AP system profile, you change the band to a.  You could have provisioned this AP and it is currently on the 2.4ghz band, so you will not see anything.  You need to purge it, change the preferred band to A in the AP system profile (only affects singl-radio APs), then reprovision the AP again.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-20-2012

Re: AP 92

The AP 175 is used 2.4g mesh and 5g as the bridge\backhaul to the AP 92 on the building.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: AP 92

Gotcha. Can you do a show ap config ap-name YourAP92Name from the CLI on the controller and post the output?

Thanks,

Zach Jennings
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-20-2012

Re: AP 92

Specs say "Software-configurable single radio capable of supporting 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz"

Wireless Radio Specifications

AP type:Single radio, dual-band 802.11n indoor
Supported Frequency Bands (country-specific restrictions apply):2.400 - 2.4835 GHz           5.150 - 5.250 GHz          5.250 - 5.350 GHz           5.470 - 5.725 GHz                    5.725 - 5.850 GHz
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,812
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 92

[ Edited ]

Ken H wrote:

Specs say "Software-configurable single radio capable of supporting 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz"

Wireless Radio Specifications

AP type: Single radio, dual-band 802.11n indoor
Supported Frequency Bands (country-specific restrictions apply): 2.400 - 2.4835 GHz           5.150 - 5.250 GHz          5.250 - 5.350 GHz           5.470 - 5.725 GHz                    5.725 - 5.850 GHz

Yes, you are correct, but it needs to be configured for the correct band.  From what you mention, you are doing backhaul on the 2.4ghz which is right, but any antenna that starts with a "5" can only transmit on the 5ghz spectrum.  So you have an antenna that will only transmit on 5ghz connected to an AP that is configured to mesh on 2.4ghz.  Are you sure about that antenna part number?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-20-2012

Re: AP 92

I will get the info from the IT group that programed the unit and get back, I'm kind of the middle man (electrian that did the install) digging for answer.

Thanks. 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-20-2012

Re: AP 92

As I said " I'm kind of the middle man (electrician that did the install) digging for answers" I believe the AP are configured correctly by the IT group and are using the 2.4g for local accsess and the 5g for backhaul. I may have my Mesh \Bridge backwards.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: AP 92

[ Edited ]
Thanks Ken. The important thing to understand here is that the AP-92 can do either 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz. It cannot do both. By default it is 2.4Ghz. There is a setting on the controller as Colin mentioned. If you can get IT to get that output which I requested, we should be able to determine if it is set for 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz.
Thanks,

Zach Jennings
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: