Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

Hi,

i set the value of 12 in the "Max TX EIRP" of my AP93, but if I check the current EIRP of this AP, I see the value of 15.

Why the AP power level is greater than the limit that i set?

I espect that the AP transmits at the maximum power of 12.

 

Thanks,

Massimo

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,272
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

Please paste in a screenshot of your ARM profile.  The ARM profile should have the Min and Max TX power.

 

Also make sure the ARM profile is assigned to the radio profile of the ap-group that your access point is in.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

Hi Colin,

thank you for the reply. Yes, I know the things you have written and I think I have them configured properly. However I attach the "show ap config", so you can see my configuration and give me some suggestions.

I use the 2.4GHz radio of my AP93.

If I check the current EIRP I see this:

 

show ap debug driver-log ap-name "AP93_F5-TC2_223" | include EIRP
26 0.416996 wifi0: EIRP (Config: 15.0dBm, Set: 15.0dBm, AP Max: 20.0dBm, Reg Max: 19dBm), Conducted Power Set: 13.0dBm, Gain: 2.0dBm
59 1.070018 wifi0: EIRP (Config: 15.0dBm, Set: 15.0dBm, AP Max: 20.0dBm, Reg Max: 19dBm), Conducted Power Set: 13.0dBm, Gain: 2.0dBm

 

 

Thanks,

Massimo

 

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,272
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

You need to use "show ap active" to see what is the current power of the AP.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

[ Edited ]

Here is are the output of "show ap active":

 

show ap active

Active AP Table
---------------
Name Group IP Address 11g Clients 11g Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP 11a Clients 11a Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP AP Type Flags Uptime Outer IP
---- ----- ---------- ----------- ------------------- ----------- ------------------- ------- ----- ------ --------
AP93_F5-TC2_223 Group-MediaProfili 192.168.200.47 5 AP:HT:11/15/19 0 93 2a 4h:45m:3s N/A

 

as you can see, the EIRP is 15

 

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,272
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

[ Edited ]

EDIT:

 

What version of ArubaOS is this?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,272
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

That is because your ARM assignment is set to "maintain" for both bands.  You need to change it to single-band for it to change channels and power

 

Assignment                                                                   maintain          maintain           rf arm-profile "ARM-mantain-12db" / "default"

 

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: AP current EIRP and Max Tx EIRP

Thank you very much, Collin! This edit solve my small issue.

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: