Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

AP's unable to go full power?

Active AP Table
---------------
Name Group IP Address 11g Clients 11g Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP 11a Clients 11a Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP AP Type Flags Uptime Outer IP
---- ----- ---------- ----------- ------------------- ----------- ------------------- ------- ----- ------ --------
24:de:c6:ca:67:c4    demo 192.168.99.1 0  AP:HT:6/15/19 0  AP:HT:52+/21/21    115    2a 27m:16s N/A
6c:f3:7f:c9:1c:2c       demo 192.168.99.2 0  AP:HT:1/15/19 0  AP:HT:64-/20/20     104    2a 7m:1s N/A
24:de:c6:ca:7c:74    demo 192.168.99.3 0  AP:HT:6/15/19 0  AP:HT:124+/15/20  114    2a 48m:42s N/A
00:0b:86:9c:d6:e6    demo 192.168.99.4 0  AP:HT:1/15/19 0                                     93H   A2a 49m:45s N/A

 

 

 

Anybody got an explanation why my AP's wont go full power? 

Both arm and radio profiles have min and max set to 127 dB for both bands yet none goes up to max eirp on 2.4GHz.

AP-104 and 114 have been provisioned as indoor with 1dB antennas :smileytongue:

All AP's are directly connected to an Aruba 651 controller.

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

[ Edited ]

 

The Max 127 is just theoretical value , in reality the maximum power allowed for APs is 22.5 

 

https://arubanetworkskb.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/HowTo/R-13

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

I realize that, but my AP's are stuck at 15dB with a max EIRP of 19.

Hence, I want my 4dB!

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

Do you have ARM enabled ?

 

What's the Min/Max EIRP on ARM ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

yes arm enabled.

Both the radio profile (just in case) as the arm profiles for both bands have 127 set for min and max.

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

 

Can you verify the following :

 

https://arubanetworkskb.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/HowTo/R-778

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Aruba
Posts: 1,296
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

[ Edited ]

In the data sheet for the 104/5 you will see that at the highest rates (MCSA7/15) the max power is 15 dBm per transmit chain. In the ht-ssid profile, change the supported MCS set to be something like 0-3 and see if you get more power. According to the data sheet you should get 20 dBm.

 

Try maybe disabling ht-rates and see if it changes. For 54 Mbps is says it should be 17 dBm.

 

I'd be interested to know the results.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

Koenv,

 

What ArubaOS is this and what regulatory domain?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

6.3.1.1, Belgium, Europe

Koen (ACMX #351 | ACDX #547 | ACCP)

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP's unable to go full power?

Koenv,

 

Check to make sure you don't have ARM disabled on that band (g radio).  The initial EIRP is 15 and if ARM is disabled, that is where it will stay.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: