Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

Dear expert

The several users informed voice quality was very bad and noisy under the certain access points from one day ago suddenly. The claim was fixed by three  APs reboot around there. Do you have any idea what was happening in the APs in such a case and how to find which AP affected that? Also, can I get some commands or troubleshooting method to identify next happens similar issue reoccur?

 

Aruba3600 / 5.0.3.3

AP105

 

Regards

Simon

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

Ap is congested, then when it is rebooted, all clients go away, so it seems like there are no more problems.

 

What voice client is this?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

thanks, cjose. It is clear.

Voice client is Alcatel Omni touch ip phone.

 

Regards

simon

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

How far apart are you access points?

 

Are the phones running on a separate SSID or the same SSID as other clients?

 

What kind of encryption are you using?  



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

It is not so far, maybe 10 to 20 meter between AP and each client.

Only same type of phone is running on one SSID.

Encryption is WPA2 with EAP-TLS.

 

I can see the number of clietns were only two to three under each AP from show ap active output before the AP reboot.

So the number of clients may not relate to this symptom.

 

Regards

Simon

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

For the voice protocol are you using SIP, SVP or NOE?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

We use NOE.

 

Regards

Saimon

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

Are you dropping broadcasts and multicast on the Virtual AP level?  Do you have a rule that prioritizes NOE?  Do the phones show up in the "Voice Clients" portion of the Controller as NOE phones?  What band are the phones on?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot

Cjoseph

>>Are you dropping broadcasts and multicast on the Virtual AP level? 

I didn't check during problem. Which command do I check?

 

>>Do you have a rule that prioritize ONE? 

 Yes, the highest.

 

>>Do the phones show up in the "Voice Clients" portion of the Controller as ONE phones? 

I didn't check during problem.

 

>>What band are the phones on? EGG

 

Regards

simon

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP105 issue fixed by AP reboot


sai45mon10 wrote:

Cjoseph

>>Are you dropping broadcasts and multicast on the Virtual AP level? 

I didn't check during problem. Which command do I check?

 

>>Do you have a rule that prioritize ONE? 

 Yes, the highest.

 

>>Do the phones show up in the "Voice Clients" portion of the Controller as ONE phones? 

I didn't check during problem.

 

>>What band are the phones on? EGG

 

Regards

simon

 


Go to Configuration> Wireless> AP Configuration.  Edit the AP-Group that your access points are in.  Expand Wireless LAN, Expand Virtual AP then click on the Virtual AP that corresponds to your WLAN.  In the right pane, make sure that drop broadcast and multicast is checked, along with Proxy Arp.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: