Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

AP225 not receiving power

Dear,

 

We have AP225s that are connected with both ports on an Alcatel OS6450-P24 switch. When we plug in the AP port by port, there is no problem, the AP is getting power and booting fine.

When the switch needs to reboot (due to an upgrade of the switch for example) the AP is not getting any power afterwards.

When we disconnect 1 of the 2 ports, the switch is getting power on the other port which is still connected and boots fine again, after it gets his power on that port, we can connect the other port again.

So it seems the switch does not know on which of the 2 ports he need to deliver power.

 

I tried the same on an Alcatel OS6850-P24X and I have the same issue.

 

Any idea? Somebody who has the same issue?

 

Kind regards,

Thomas
ACMX#370 ACCP

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: AP225 not receiving power

what IAP version are you using?
Have you spoken to Alcatel?
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: AP225 not receiving power

It is an AP, not an IAP.

But it is version  Version 6.3.1.0 (39345) (not yet configured, since it is in my lab without a controller for the moment)

 

For the moment I didn't opened a ticket with Alcatel yet, I want to be sure it is indeed an Alcatel issue or an Aruba AP issue, since I noticed it on 2 diferent types of Alcatel switches with same behaviour.

Do you have this type of APs in your lab? Can you test if you have the same behaviour on an other type of switch (I only have Alcatel) (so enable lanpower/POE on the 2 ports at the same time)

 

 

Thomas
ACMX#370 ACCP

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: AP225 not receiving power

sorry, misread your post, unfortunately I only have IAP-225s (which I can convert).

I would have to dig around to see if I have a POE+ switch around our lab...it is a complete mess right now due to flooding so equipment is everywhere.
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: AP225 not receiving power

No Problem, in mean time I opened a ticket with Alcatel, since they have the same APs in their portfolio (OAW-AP225)  I hope they can investigate if it is switch or AP related

Thomas
ACMX#370 ACCP

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
MVP
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎08-27-2012

Re: AP225 not receiving power

This was an issue with the second port coming up before the first. If eth1 comes up before eth0 the AP will not come up. I know there have been some improvements in this in the newer versions of code, however I have a customer on Alcatel who changed a config to allow the first port to receive priority for power over the second. Not sure exactly what the config was, but you might want to look into that as well.
ACDX #419 | ACMP |
Aruba
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: AP225 not receiving power

This is a known issue with the AP-225 hardware.

The AP has a single controller for POE-PD, negotiating POE power on either one of the Ethernet ports (but not both simultaneously). When both ports are connected to a POE source, it can be hard to predict which one will be elected. When both POE sources are part of the same switch and POE is enabled simultaneously, there's a potential for a conflict which can lead to the switch disabling both ports.

/Onno Harms, Aruba

/Onno
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: AP225 not receiving power


tsd25108 wrote:
This was an issue with the second port coming up before the first. If eth1 comes up before eth0 the AP will not come up. I know there have been some improvements in this in the newer versions of code, however I have a customer on Alcatel who changed a config to allow the first port to receive priority for power over the second. Not sure exactly what the config was, but you might want to look into that as well.

I tried changing the POE priority on the Alcatel side, but not solving the issue; thanks for the tip though.

Thomas
ACMX#370 ACCP

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: AP225 not receiving power


oharms wrote:

This is a known issue with the AP-225 hardware.

The AP has a single controller for POE-PD, negotiating POE power on either one of the Ethernet ports (but not both simultaneously). When both ports are connected to a POE source, it can be hard to predict which one will be elected. When both POE sources are part of the same switch and POE is enabled simultaneously, there's a potential for a conflict which can lead to the switch disabling both ports.

/Onno Harms, Aruba


I opened a ticket with Alcatel, since they sell this same type of APs, they maybe already have a solution for this. I hope I receive a satisfying answer soon.

Thomas
ACMX#370 ACCP

-- Found something helpful, important, or cool? Click the Kudos Star in a post.
-- Problem Solved? Click "Accept as Solution" in a post.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: