Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

We are using AP70s as RAPs on our inter-campus shuttle buses here at McGill University.  These APs get powered up and down many times per day and some of them have completely lost their config!

 

Has anyone else seen this and if so is this an issue with AP70s or APs in general?

 

The APs are powered by an Axis T8122 POE injector as it converts 12v DC from the bus to POE power for the AP as the AP only has a 5V input.

 

I'm also wondering if an AP gets powered down during a boot cycle if this could maybe cause the issue?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

What version of code are you using?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

We just upgraded to 6.1.3.1 but when they lost their config they were running 5.0.4.5

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

If it loses its config and it gets powered up and powered down all the time, that would seem to be memory corruption.  If you see it happening on the new version of code please open a case.  Being that the AP70 is end of life, it probably has not been seen or reported.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

Any tests I could run on the AP to check for memory problems?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP70 loosing config - Setup as RAP

I'm going to speak in general here:

 

I am not saying anything is wrong memory, per se.  To be technical, in ArubaOS 6.x, we write to the memory of the AP less, and that should reduce corruption due to the power being interrupted constantly while we are writing.  You certainly have a corner use case.

 

If you see the same issues in 6.x, please open a ticket with TAC so we can work it.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: