Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-03-2016

ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

Hi. I want to create a SSID per VLAN using these Aruba APs. I did this solution using Ubiquity + Sonicwall. Now I will use Aruba + Fortinet. I not going to do the fortinet part just the AP config.

So I will create 5 different SSID and assing those to a specific VLAN. Example. VLAN 10 SSID Marketing , VLAN 20 SSID Sales etc.

Then I will connect my AP to a trunk port and connect that switch to the Fortinet. And the fortinel will have the DHCP server for each VLAN.

After read and watch a few aruba videos the creation of the SSID and assignation to the vlan is really easy.Should I do something else in the aruba side?

Note. Im not using a controller in this solution. Just autonomous Ap

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

Why not have a single SSID, and put users in different VLANs based on AD group, instead?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

Let me expand on my comments.

 

If you are using 802.1x, you can have the radius server return a VLAN attribute to a user based on AD group.  That way, you can have a single SSID and users will be automatically put into the VLAN they belong to upon authentication.

 

You should put the IAP or autonomous AP on a trunk and the AP will send the user traffic out tagged, depending on VLAN.

 

Adding more SSIDs, increases overhead and decreases performance, so having a single VLAN is more efficient and requires less client configuration.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-03-2016

Re: ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

[ Edited ]

Well I not have the time to test your  reccomendation. Because tomorrow I must do this. I will do it in the future maybe you can provide me a manual  or a guide to do it.

 

But for now I will follow my original idea. So basically what I want to do is possible not efficient but should work right?

 

also what is an IAP?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

It should work.  IAP= Instant AP.  Which model AP do you have?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-03-2016

Re: ARUBA Ap SSID per VLAN

IAP-205-RW

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: