Wireless Access

last person joined: 11 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Active Interfering APs

This thread has been viewed 9 times
  • 1.  Active Interfering APs

Posted Sep 20, 2011 04:56 PM
    I am new to Aruba and would like to know if I should change the status of my interfering ap's to -valid, interfering, known interfering, rogue, suspected rogue, disable or clear. and what exactly does that do if I do change the status of them. Currently there are 37 interfering ap's and i do not know what they are. Thanks.

• 2.  RE: Active Interfering APs

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 20, 2011 04:59 PM
    Leave them as interfering. They just are 3rd-party APs that your APs can see: Nothing more, nothing less. These are valuable, because they let you know what other access points you can see in your environment.

• 3.  RE: Active Interfering APs

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 20, 2011 05:03 PM
    Exactly.

• 4.  RE: Active Interfering APs

Posted Sep 20, 2011 05:03 PM
    OK, thanks, i wasnt sure if changing the status of them would free up anything on my network to make it run smoother, but from what your saying that answer is no, I should just ignore them, they do no harm to my network. thanks.

• 5.  RE: Active Interfering APs

Posted Sep 27, 2011 10:40 AM
    Then what is the point of having the different classifications for the other SSIDs? One of your initial sales pitches to us was the ability to disable or contain known rogue APs on the network. Why have all the different types of interfering APs if we're not supposed to classify them?

• 6.  RE: Active Interfering APs

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 27, 2011 11:49 AM