Wireless Access

last person joined: 15 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Airplay and Sonos - what am I missing?

This thread has been viewed 10 times
  • 1.  Airplay and Sonos - what am I missing?

Posted May 17, 2018 10:54 AM

I have a master/local setup with two 7210s running 6.4.4.16_61809.  I am trying to get a Sonos Connect to work on a PSK SSID.  The process always stalls at the point where the Connect and the app attempt to discover each other.  I can confirm that they're both connected to the same SSID (plus same VLAN), and have an appropriate role assigned.  Here's the nitty gritty:

AirGroup configuration in the controller should only be necessary if broadcast filtering is turned on in the VAP, or if the devices are on separate VLANs.  However, at least one forum post indicated that it may be necessary to enable AirGroup even with no broadcast filtering and with devices on the same VLAN.  Fine, so i enabled Airplay, DIAL, and DLNA Media.  No luck.  So I issued 'show airgroup blocked-service-id' to see what's being blocked.  I can see by filtering by the IP of the SONOS, some service IDs are being blocked.  So I made a new AirGroup.... list? and added those service IDs, along with all the service IDs that other Airheads suggested.  Still no luck.  

I did a wireshark capture from another device on the same SSID, and I didn't see any traffic from the Sonos or the client.  However, using a network diagnostics app on the client, I can see the Sonos device.

• 2.  RE: Airplay and Sonos - what am I missing?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 17, 2018 11:41 AM

What version of AOS are you running? Also, what role(s) are assigned to client and/or Sonos gear?

• 3.  RE: Airplay and Sonos - what am I missing?

Posted May 17, 2018 11:43 AM