Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

I could use some help on what the specific needs are in setting up Apple Remote Desktop v3.8 on Aruba.  Is AirGroups needed to make this hapen and if so what specifically is it using?  It seemed to be working temparily but now has stopped and I am unsure of what is needed to make the current version work..

 

Thanks!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,027
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

How are you using Apple Remote desktop is the answer to that. There are specific ports that need to be allowed. Are you allowing them?http://www.how2s.org/index.php/Howto_get_Apple_Remote_Desktop_to_work_behind_a_router


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

I have these ports allowed for these lab computers... It is specifically when i try to share my screen to all the others.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,027
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

mattjhughes,

 

If you are allowing those ports and you are still seeing that issue, what do you think could be the problem?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

the screen sharing does not work with allow-all as the user-role.  Other aspects of the ARD are working fine,  I can share a screen with one individual computer, and I can remotely observe/control another users screen.  However when I try to share the instructor screen with more then one  computer,  it does not work.   I am looking over the ARD documentation and do not see much regardingmulticast, but wondered if it could be something that needsAirGroups to resolve.  Is there a good command to test if the client is attempting to usemulticast traffic? I saw 

show airgroup blocked-queries 

however it does not seem to show specific users, or I do not know how to associate them to the UUID. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,027
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

mattjhughes,

 

You should run the command "show datapath session table <ip address of client>"  a few times exactly when you are attempting the remote desktop to see what traffic is being passed, to see if anything is being blocked.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

 

Here is some of the output from the command you mentioned.  I see the Y flag for some of the traffic, but was not sure if that was just UDP traffic.   I tried to do the screen share about 10 times and it worked (for thie first time) 1 of those 10 times however, nothing was changed, as far as I could tell.    As an aside I thought there was an easy way to change the role of a user using the CLI,  something like aaa user change role or something.  I wanted to create a custom role just for testing, and asign via the CLI.

 

 

(Aruba7240) (config) #show datapath session table 10.31.14.176 | include 10.31.17
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 14   4          376        FCA             
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 14   4          664        FA              
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   5900  5900   0/0     5    0   0   tunnel 2209 e    17         816        FC              
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   5900  5900   0/0     5    0   0   tunnel 2209 e    16         1152       F               
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   5900  49439  0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 c    0          0          FYA             
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   49439 5900   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 c    8          384        FCA             

(Aruba7240) (config) #show datapath session table 10.31.14.176 | include 10.31.17
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 8    2          188        FCA             
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 8    2          188        FA              
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   5900  49439  0/0     0    0   7   tunnel 3268 7b   0          0          FY              
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   49439 5900   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 7b   46         2208       FC              

(Aruba7240) (config) #show datapath session table 10.31.17.16 | include 10.31.14.176
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 a    2          188        FCA             
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 a    2          188        FA              
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   5900  49439  0/0     0    0   11  tunnel 3268 ba   0          0          FY              
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   49439 5900   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 ba   67         3216       FC              

(Aruba7240) (config) #show datapath session table 10.31.17.16 | include 10.31.14.176
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 d    2          188        FCA             
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   3283  3283   0/0     0    0   1   tunnel 3268 d    2          188        FA              
10.31.14.176    10.31.17.16     17   5900  49439  0/0     0    0   11  tunnel 3268 bd   0          0          FY              
10.31.17.16     10.31.14.176    17   49439 5900   0/0     0    0   0   tunnel 3268 bd   68         3264       FC              

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,027
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

Port 5900 and port 3283 according to apple:  https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202944

 

aaa user add <ip address> <role> will switch roles of a user.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

Sorry I can not understand the output from the command that well,  are you thinking it is being blocked on 5900? or is that standard for UDP traffic on that port (the Y flag)   Also when I try to change the role using the comand. 

 

aaa user add 10.31.17.16 role Secure-Role

and then look in the user-table it still has the old role assigned..  

 

Any ideas on what should be my next steps? Thank you much for the help so far.  

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,027
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Apple Remote Desktop for a wireless lab

I don't see it being blocked.  The Y flag is for UDP traffic or one-way TCP traffic.  Protocol 17 means that it is UDP traffic.  All the traffic looks like it is unicast, so no airgroup/mdns type discovery traffic there.  Please identify the other ip addresses in the output to determine what the computer is attempting to talk to...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: