Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba Controller & VLAN's

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Aruba Controller & VLAN's

Posted Oct 23, 2014 07:08 PM

Hello IT friends, I hope this is the correct board to place my question. This is my first time posting here and overall I am relativley new to the aruba network so please forgive me if i dont make much sense.

We currently have the Aruba 3200 controller setup with multiple AP105's, everything is working fine.

I have recently been given the task of setting up multiple virtual AP's and assigning them to different VLAN's.

Is anyone able to give me a guide on how to configure this in the aruba controller. I have listed some details below, I can provide more if needed.

My default router is 10.10.254.254 and is routing the following vlans

VLAN2 Routing IP 10.10.254.254 255.255.0.0
    VLAN20 Routing IP 10.20.1.254 255.255.255.0
    VLAN30 Routing IP 10.30.1.254 255.255.255.0
    VLAN40 Routing IP 10.40.1.254 255.255.255.0
    VLAN50 Routing IP 10.50.1.254 255.255.0.0
    VLAN 60 Routing IP 10.60.1.254 255.255.0.0

I would like to broadcast the following SSIDS

BYOD - VLAN 60
    Teacher -  VLAN 20
    Students - VLAN 50

Thank you for any help you can give.

• 2.  RE: Aruba Controller & VLAN's

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 23, 2014 07:19 PM

Is multiple VLANs *SSIDs a requirement? The "new" way to do this is use a single SSID and map VLAN based on the user that is connecting. For example. if students are in a certain AD group, we can give them a STUDENT role and VLAN 50.

You should try to keep your SSIDs down to a bare minimum, designing around authentication method/encryption type.

SSID 1: 802.1X/WPA2-AES (students, faculty, BYOD)

SSID 2: Open/PSK (guest, dumb devices)

• 3.  RE: Aruba Controller & VLAN's