Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba IAP305, guest network not getting DHCP IP

This thread has been viewed 10 times
  • 1.  Aruba IAP305, guest network not getting DHCP IP

Posted Aug 12, 2017 04:01 PM

Customer has Avaya 3549 POE switches.  I am new to Avaya switches and not sure if the ports I'm plugged into are configured properly, they were configured by a different contractor guy.  The Aruba 305 units are connected to standard access ports with a standard wifi network and a guest wifi network.  I can connect to the standard wifi network all day long and receive DHCP IP addresses from the DHCP server on the network.  The guest network is configured to use DHCP server on the AP 's themselves.  90% of the time I do not get a DHCP IP from the guest network, especially if I'm walking around trying to roam to a different area where a different AP is installed but with the same networks configured. I can see the client associated with the SSID, but I do not receive an IP address.

thanks in advance

• 2.  RE: Aruba IAP305, guest network not getting DHCP IP

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 12, 2017 04:05 PM

- What version of Instant?

- How many APs in your cluster?

• 3.  RE: Aruba IAP305, guest network not getting DHCP IP

Posted Aug 12, 2017 04:22 PM

5 AP's so far, on the second floor here in the building.  They all have the latest 6.5.1.0-4.3.1.2_58595 build.  It's not the first time I did Aruba.  I don't think I need to configure the switch ports in trunk mode as NAT for the guest IP subnet is done on the AP's.  Getting IP address from the guest network is very spotty but always seems to work when I have just 1 AP.  Once I connect my device to that AP, it's fine, problem seems to occur when I roam to a different side of the building then the device times out getting an IP.