Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Hi,

I have a campus ap-315, I provisioned it in my test setup on a 7010 controller running the latest code.

Later I was to move this AP to my production network to associate on an Aruba7240XM running 6.5.0.2 code.

I don't see the AP showing up on the controller. I connected the AP to the switch port which was already having an operational AP and still no luck.

What could be the possible reasons for running into this issues?

 

Local Intf: Gi1/0/47
Chassis id: 703a.0ec1.b2ae
Port id: 703a.0ec1.b2ae
Port Description: bond0
System Name - not advertised

System Description:
ArubaOS (MODEL: 315), Version 6.5.0.2 (56901)

Time remaining: 35 seconds
System Capabilities: B,W
Enabled Capabilities - not advertised
Management Addresses - not advertised
Auto Negotiation - not supported
Physical media capabilities - not advertised
Media Attachment Unit type - not advertised
Vlan ID: - not advertised

------------------------------------------------
Local Intf: Gi1/0/48
Chassis id: 703a.0ec1.b192
Port id: 703a.0ec1.b192
Port Description: bond0
System Name: AP4

System Description:
ArubaOS (MODEL: 315), Version 6.5.0.2 (56901)

Time remaining: 33 seconds
System Capabilities: B,W
Enabled Capabilities: W
Management Addresses:
    IP: 172.25.42.17
Auto Negotiation - supported, enabled
Physical media capabilities:
    1000baseT(FD)
    100base-TX(FD)
    100base-TX(HD)
    10base-T(FD)
    10base-T(HD)
Media Attachment Unit type: 16
Vlan ID: - not advertised
PoE+ Power-via-MDI TLV:
 Power Pair: Signal
 Power Class: Class 4
 Power Device Type: Type 2 PD
 Power Source: PSE
 Power Priority: unknown
 Power Requested: 20800 mW
 Power Allocated: 20800 mW

MVP
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎04-02-2013

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

[ Edited ]

Hi Adnan,

 

 

do you have CPSEC enabled? Did you add the mac address to the whitelist? 

 

Can you see it in the whitelist DB waiting for approval?

 

Did you fix the aruba-master IP address on the test environment or was it learnt via DNS, DHCP or ADP? 

 

Regards

Borja

Regards,
Borja
ACMX #567 //ACCP//CWNA
Highlighted
MVP
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎07-26-2011

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Hey, might also be worth considering the IP of the controller which the AP is connecting to after it has been provisioned. Is the lab controller and the production controller  both running the same IP?

 

If you can attach a console cable to the AP, you will be able to see if it is obtaining an IP address, able to locate the master and so on.

ACMA, ACMP
If my post addresses your query, give kudos:)
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Hi Borja,

 

Thanks for the prompt response.

I have left the Aruba master controller discovery through DHCP option-43, is it the recommended way?

 

Now coming to the concern, I was trying to see the AP that needs to be provisioned on the controller on GUI : configuration -> ap installation -> provisioning and the newly added AP was not reflecting here.

 

However when I saw it in show ap database and the unprovisioned ap entries then it was reflected with flag U2G.

70:3a:0e:c1:b2:ae         CampusAPbehindCiscouWGB  315      192.25.22.11    Down                U2G    192.20.0.11  0.0.0.0

 

Not sure for looking an newly added AP by clicking the status(so as to reflect recently up AP the right way.

 

Thanks

Adnan

MVP
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎07-26-2011

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Are you able to ping the AP from the production controller? The G flag you can see shows that you are missing the AP-group configuration  on the production controller as well. If you run the below command (where XXX is the IP of the AP) we will be able to see if the AP is attempting to communicate with the controller.

 

#show datapath session | include XXXX
ACMA, ACMP
If my post addresses your query, give kudos:)
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Hi Borja and Zalion,

Thanks for the prompt responses.

 

I have another query. If for a subnet, DHCP option 43 is not enabled and I want the AP to discover the controller, then can I do it while supplying the IP address of master controller while provisioning the AP.

 

My requirement is as such, there are few APs in my network the subnet of which does not have dhcp option 43 enabled.

 

So the plan is first provisino the AP by connecting them to the subnet on which dhcp option 43 is enabled. Once the AP registers with the controller, provision it as such that master controller IP address is add on the AP. The AP is then connected on the subnet on which dhcp option 43 is not enabled.

Will this help AP to discover the controller even without dhcp option 43.

 

 

MVP
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎04-02-2013

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

Hi,

 

why you don't use dns? You will just need to add an entry on your dns for aruba-master pointing onto the master's IP address (or VRRP depending on your scenario).

 

Otherwise you can hard code the aruba master IP through the console cable on the AP.

 

apboot>setenv master IP Address   (This is the Controller's IP address where this AP initially points to)

apboot>save

apboot>boot

 

 

Regards

Borja

Regards,
Borja
ACMX #567 //ACCP//CWNA
MVP
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎04-02-2013

Re: Campus AP fails to provision after change of controller running a latest code.

but yes, the way you are doing it, it will work too.

Regards,
Borja
ACMX #567 //ACCP//CWNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: