Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

[ Edited ]

I saw this post: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad? which is a little dated but I'm not sure if it holds true because i couldn't follow the link referenced. I was looking into creating a link agg with a palo alto device and I was told that they don't support LACP just traditional 802.3ad. Does the 7240 controller support this?

 

As always - thanks,

 

Rosie

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

Yes - see below:

 

http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_60/UserGuide/LACP.php

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Re: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

Thanks for the quick reply!

 

Do you know if there would be a problem mixing the copper and sfp ports? 

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Re: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

This is the information from PA that I was going by:

 

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/docs/DOC-3594

 

where a users posts: 

 

"PAN OS 5.0 support Link Aggregation on all models 

But, it’s just configured manual (same mode ON EtherChannel).

LACP is a protocol, PAN is not support."

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

So just to confirm you want to create a static port channel not an LACP based port channel correct? If it is the former, you can also refer to this config snippet in the KB.

 

https://arubanetworkskb.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/HowTo/R-139

 

There shouldn't be a problem mixing copper and SFP ports as long as the speeds are the same (e.g. 1G).

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Re: Can Aruba Controller Support 802.3ad?

Yes, it's my understanding that we'd need to configure it manually/statically.

 

Thanks for the config snippet!

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: