Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Can I cluster different controllers models?

Hi,

 

I have two 7030 controllers and two 7210. I would like to see if I can have the 7030 to be Master-Backup master while having the 7210 to be local-local and get theri configs from the Masters(7030)?

the real question is: can I have the masters to be a model and the local to be a totaly differant model?

 

Thanks.

MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

Yes you can but it is recommended to use the 7210s as the master and the 7030s as the locals as they were designed to be branch office controllers.

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

pmonardo,

thank you,

the 7030 are limited to 64 APs and if I grow over 200 APs which it seems that I will. then I will need the bigger controller, that's why we went with 7210 as Locals.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,456
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

The 7000 series are only support as local controllers in a master-local topology.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

Cappalli

 

The reason I asked is that my aruba se suggested that I use the 7030 controllers as my master, but now you are saying that they should be locals? I'm a bit confused now :(

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,456
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

7000 series are not supported as a master in a master-local environment.



If you want to use a 7210 as a local, you would need to use a 7210 or
greater controller as a master.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

thanks cappalli

 

what I currently have is one Master-one Local. they are both a 7030 and they are working fine. I'm not sure what you mean by it is not supported as a master because I do have it as a master right now. The customer is growing and I want to get them a pair of 7210 and want to make sure how to reuse their current 7030.

Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

Hi,

 

You can deploy 70XX controller as a master controller but it is not recommended due to it';s hardware limitations, these controllers are designed for branch office deployment.

 

A master controller should have rich of hardware to process ARM data received from all the AP across the deployment and Master also need to analyse the IDS data and take IPS decisions along with regular controller responsibilities, more importantly Master should have high availability with redundant power and enough cooling system.

 

72XX controllers are designed with enough hardware to handle and process massive ARM and IDS data and having Redundant power and sophisticated cooling system, therefore 72XX are highly recommended for Master role.

 

where as a Local controller is suppose to handle client traffic ( in tunnel mode) and it should map the policies along with AppRF for this we don't need very rich of hardware. 70XX are designed with less hardware such that they can handle client traffic and AppRF, therefore these are recommended for Local operation.

 

more importantly when master is configured as the backup LMS for all the APs, Master should have very high AP handling capacity, 72XX can handle >=512 APs and 70XX can handle <=64APs.

 

coming to the scalability at the BO, if you want to deploy more than 64 APs, deploy another 70XX controller or terminate some APs on 72XX ( Master).

 

Hope got some more clarity on this,

 

Please feel free for any further query on this.

 

 

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-11-2013

Re: Can I cluster different controllers models?

Puduchery,

Thank you very much for taking the time. This is exactly what I needed to know. 

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: