Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

I have a 650 Mobility Controller with AP105. I would like to fix the wireless clients to connect the specific AP instead of it connects to any AP, is that possible? How should I go about it? My 650 Mobility Controller is on OS6.3. Please advise.

MVP
Posts: 4,272
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

What's the purpose behind this ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

The deployment of the Aruba wireless is actually for wireless infrastructure for iPad as information kiosk in a shopping mall. I have found out that the iPad can't get a stable connection although is connected through 5G wireless. I have enabled ClientMatch feature and also maximize the Tx EIRP, iPad still got no stable connectivity. Please advise.

Sent from Mike iPhone
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,467
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

Is your network designed for 5 GHz? How far is the nearest AP?

Cranking tx power is only going to make things worse.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
MVP
Posts: 4,272
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

You may want to do the following:

- If you are only supporting iPads you should consider enabling 802.11r.

- Disable lower data rates

- And look at the ARM min/max EIRP

 

What version of AOS do you have installed ?

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

I am on OS6.3. All the iPads are on IOS7. Maybe I will try out your suggestions. Keep posted here after I got the result. Thanks.

Sent from Mike iPhone
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: Can I fix the client to connect specific access point?

The network is designed with dual band 2.4G and 5G. 2.4G traffic is congested in the shopping mall. So the performance is not that ideal if connected through 2.4G.

Sent from Mike iPhone
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: