Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2012

Can't Provision new AP 93s

Hello,

 

For some reason I can not provision a couple of new AP 93s that we just purchased.  We have an Aruba 2400 running 5.0.3.1 and I have other AP 93s that I am able to provision.  The new APs are working, I just can't change the name or the location.  They do reboot, but they never come up with the new name/location.  Any ideas what I'm missing?  I've tried plugging these APs directly into the 2400 and I notice no errors in AP debugging.  I haven't connected to AP console yet (I left my laptop at home).  Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks!

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,261
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

How many access points do you have in total?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2012

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

48 access points up (46 if you remove the two new ones) 5 APs listed as down.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,261
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

I would type "show log system 50" to see if there are any messages generated by those access points.  I would also type "show ap database to see if those access points have any flags that would indicate why they are not working.  From my memory, 48 access points is the limit for the 2400 platform.  Let's hope you don't have any other hidden devices that are connecting...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2012

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

Ok.. now I see something interesting...

 

Dec 19 15:55:08 :399803:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  An internal system error has occurred at file sapd_cfg.c function sapd_read_cached_info line 483 error apfc_read failed: Cache uninitialized.
Dec 19 15:55:08 :303022:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 nanny|  Reboot Reason: No reboot message found.
Dec 19 15:55:35 :311010:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd| AP could not boot from flash -- bad checksum
Dec 19 15:56:08 :311002:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  Rebooting: SAPD: Reboot after image upgrade
Dec 19 15:56:09 :303086:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 nanny| Process Manager (nanny) shutting down - AP will reboot!
Dec 19 15:57:10 :399803:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  An internal system error has occurred at file sapd_cfg.c function sapd_read_cached_info line 483 error apfc_read failed: Cache uninitialized.
Dec 19 15:57:11 :303022:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 nanny|  Reboot Reason: No reboot message found.
Dec 19 16:05:52 :399803:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  An internal system error has occurred at file sapd_msg.c function sapd_mesh_erase_domain_prof line 1776 error apfc_read failed: Cache uninitialized.
Dec 19 16:05:53 :311002:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  Rebooting: SAPD: Rebooting after provisioning
Dec 19 16:05:53 :303086:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 nanny| Process Manager (nanny) shutting down - AP will reboot!
Dec 19 16:06:32 :399803:  <ERRS> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 sapd|  An internal system error has occurred at file sapd_cfg.c function sapd_read_cached_info line 483 error apfc_read failed: Cache uninitialized.
Dec 19 16:06:33 :303022:  <WARN> |AP d8:c7:c8:cf:c5:c6@192.168.129.209 nanny|  Reboot Reason: No reboot message found.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,261
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

Okay.  According to the Datasheet http://www.arubanetworks.com/pdf/products/DS_AP90Series.pdf the minimum code required is ArubaOS 5.0.4.1 for AP90 series access points.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2012

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

OK... interesting... I have other 93s that I've provisioned, but I will try that, THANKS!!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,261
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

[ Edited ]

A newer batch may have newer requirements...  You're not crazy ;)



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2012

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

Makes sense to me...  Oh, but I am crazy!  :smileyvery-happy:

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,261
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't Provision new AP 93s

I'm glad I didn't take that away from you...;)

 

See if your Aruba Sales Team can give you a nice deal on a shiny new 3000 series controller....



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: