Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Captive Portal Issue

I have an Aruba 200.  I have setup captive portal, but the login page will not display when you connect to the guest network.  

 

I have configured a separate VLAN 900 for the guest network and I have setup the controller to do DHCP.  If you connect a PC to the guest network you receive an IP address from the DHCP range, but you cannot browse to the captive portal login page. 

 

I have setup captive portal before but I am not sure what I am doing wrong this time.  Only thing I can think of is I am not sure what the DNS server is on the external internet connection that is connected to VLAN 900.

MVP
Posts: 2,948
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Captive Portal Issue

Hello

Let see if i can help you

 

Okay you setup a vlan 900 that just exist on the controller?

If so you need to nat that and also do an intervlan routing between that ip interface and the one ip interface that got the default gateway.

 

Also you need to setup the dns.... on the DNS you can put 4.2.2.1 or 8.8.8.8 which are public DNS.

 

Remember that it would be a good idea that on the role that it get after the authentication he gets no access anywhere inside the network just like https and http and dns to the internet....

 

If it happens that you cannot reolve DNS the captive portal page will not work...

IF the ip interface of the vlan900 does not have an ip the captive portal also willl not work.

 

So check if you can resolve names


For example start connecting tot the captive portal

And do  on the cmd

ping www.google.com

 

If it not resolve then that should be your issue....

If it resolve but stil cannot get access to the captive potal then we need to check...

 

You can post the config you got... maybe some screenshots of your config can help us?

 

Cheers

CArlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Re: Captive Portal Issue

Yea, I can't ping www.google.com.  I thought it might be a DNS issue.  I'm using 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as the DNS on the guest DHCP pool.  

 

I've attached a copy of the config.  I don't have access to the router that gives VLAN 900.  I am working on it, but the routers in Germany and I'm in Orlando.

MVP
Posts: 2,948
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Captive Portal Issue

When you say you cant ping it

You say that you cannot resolve www.google.com

or it does resolve with the ip address but you CANT ping it

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Re: Captive Portal Issue

It does not resolve.  

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Re: Captive Portal Issue

Figured out my problem.  I set the IP address of VLAN 900 and the default gateway both to .254.  Changing the VLAN to .253 solved the problem.

MVP
Posts: 2,948
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Captive Portal Issue

Good to know its fixed

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: