Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 2,948
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Captive portal an IOS 9

Has anyone had issues with it?

We got a captive portal in which we set the time out for the captive portal last 10 minutes for inactivity

After it 10 minutes of inactivity we would expect that the captive portal to show again.  Which is not happening, its odd.    We have to disconnect it from the controller and reconnect the iphone again so the captive portal show again.

 

This didnt happen with IOS 8.   This start happening to users that downloaded IOS 9

 

Anyone?

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

[ Edited ]

I found many apple devices in my company iPhone and iPad have this problem too but most of them is iOS 10 .I have set user idle-timeout to 15300 second and re-authenticate interval to 8 hours every thing working properly but after this 2 timer had expire the captive portal never poping up again even though I turn off/on wifi again and again or reboot the devices.The only way to get through the login page is typing url at browser and for Android devices captive portal is working normally.

 

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

I would make sure that apple-cna-bypass is not enabled in the Captive Portal Authentication profile:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_65x_WebHelp/Web_Help_Index.htm#ArubaFrameStyles/1CommandList/aaa_authentication_captive.htm?Highlight=cna bypass

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

[ Edited ]

Yes it's disable.

 

1.png

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

What is the ACL for your Captive Portal "logon" role?  Type "show rights <logon role>"



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

This is my Logon Role

 

2.png

 

3.png

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

That looks fine.  Unfortunately your idle timeout is set to 4.5 hours, which means the user will not see the captive portal for 4.5 hours unless there is no activity.  The reauthentication interval should be taken out, because it is not relevant.  

 

Just to understand are you saying that when the user initially connects there is no captive portal?  It is possible that the user is still in the user table, since you have the idle timeout set for so long.  You can try deleting the user from the user table to see if they can then get the captive portal as a test..



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

[ Edited ]

Yes when the user initially connects there is no captive portal and I already do the "aaa user delete" then I got the logon role but the captive portal do not popup and i had try this several time T_T .

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,788
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

There could be more in your configuration that is preventing this, but I cannot guess what that could be.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Captive portal an IOS 9

A better way is open case right?

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: