Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

Cant even get the defualt CP page showing on the local controller, nevermind any custom ones.  Works fine on the Master.  I am able to switch between CP on either controller as I have an ap terminating on both and have confirmed that I am connected an in a guest login role on whichver controller I happen to be connected to.

 

Not sure where to start, as I had assumed the only config I would have to do on the local would be if I wanted to add custom pages.

 

Any suggestions? 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,740
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

Do you have a layer 3 interface on the local for the user subnet?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

No.. all user subnets are layer 2 and are trunked to both controllers. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,740
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

You need to add an IP on the local controller for the redirect to work correctly.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

Sorry, but I dont quite follow what you are saying...  An IP for what?

Super Contributor I
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

For captive portal to work on the controllers the VLAN interface that is connecting the client will need to have a IP address. Example if you are using VLAN 100 to connect the clients then you will need to set on both controller:-

 

vlan 100

ip address 10.10.100.X subnet mask

 

 

 

Normal Guy
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

lol.. sorry, thought that was a bit too obvious..

 

Id assumed there was something a bit more specific I had to do on the local contoller to get CP working!  All ip/vlan related info etc, is fully configured on both boxes.. both accept clients and work ok, just no CP webpage on local (not even default).

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,740
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Captive portal login page on Master, but nothing on local?

Are you able to see the captive portal if you navigate to 1.1.1.1 in the web browser?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: