Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-21-2016

Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

[ Edited ]

I have a question about a Aruba 7005 Mobility Controller.

The controller is running OS Version 6.4.4.5

The controller was accidentally configured as Branch Controller.

As a result, we're unable to access any of the features.

What is the process to switch the deployment mode from Branch to Standalone/Master?

 

MVP
Posts: 4,307
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

You will need to reset it back to default and from the initial wizard select the option of Master

You can do a write erase from CLI
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,307
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

You will need to reset it back to default so you can select the master option from the initial wizard.

From CLI you can run the following command "write erase all"

Sent from Outlook for iPhone
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-21-2016

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

Hi Victor. Thanks for the response. 

Actually, I tried the wipe erase step.

Unfortunately, due to permissions, it will now allow me to execute command.

I receive the following message:

 

(Aruba7005) #write erase all
You do not have permission to execute this command.
(Aruba7005) #

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,759
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

You'll need to factory reset it. Run the command write erase and then reload it. 

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

Branch mode won't allow that command. What else can be done?

Mike
MVP
Posts: 4,307
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

Are you trying to reset the branch controller using smart config to default factory ?

Get Outlook for iOS
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

Not using Smart Config. The 7010 branch controller was configured with a static IP address using the full-setup provisioning mode. Now there is no longer a need for a static IP address. I'd ideally like to restart the startup wizard and instead choose the mini-setup provisioning mode.

 

I have console access to the 7010. Just can't seem to run many (any) commands on the controller even when in enable mode.

 

Mike

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: Change Controller Deployment Mode from Branch to Standalone/Master

Actually I think I got it! I was able restart the initial provisioning setup wizard (where you select a provisioing mode) by poking through the LCD Menu on the front of the 7010 and selecting factory default. Pays to read the printed Installation Guide that came with the controller!

 

Mike

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: