Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Channle reuse

Hi everyone:

Here is a photograph from my specturm analysis.It indicates my channel utillization and interferance.QB~FCDL0F12D2@DL~_%0L}9.jpg

And at the same time, there 3 aps in a floor, and about 10meters an ap.These Aps can't use the channel averagely.

The 3 Aps work on channel 1 11 1 or 1 1 1.I don' t know why the ap can't work on the channel 6,it's a waste not to use this channel

I think it's not the perfect channel utilization,and I find the channel reuse.

If I choose channe reuse dynamic,can the 3APs work on the perfect way which I mean 1 6 11.

Any help or suggestion will be appreciated.

No Pain No Gain~
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Channle reuse

Spectrum Analysis and Interference are not the only parameters used to determine what channel and power an access point are on.  Please see the attached ARM supplement to see how this is determined.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Channle reuse

Your attachments is very helpful to me.

I have some ideas about this case.

I will have a try to adjust the rf profile tomorrow.

Hope the channel will be normal successfully.

No Pain No Gain~
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Channle reuse

Most of the time, the channel does not change because "Client Aware" is on.  Make sure that is unchecked.  The defaults usually work very well.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Channle reuse

Thanks for your note.

After reading your attachment.I have a question

$AJ1QGR`SW[QI7@IKKQ6EOX.jpg

 

 

How to caculate this value to compare with the value I set.

Now x is 10, y is 0,a is 853,b is 126,c is 0,d is 0.

 

3YQGKC7%37%U)8{WBN)`N2Q.jpg

 

The weighted caculation means log?

So when i see my rf summary value,I should compare the value log(x/y) with ideal coverge Index,

compare the value log(a+b+c+d) with Free channel Index?

Can I comprehend that?

No Pain No Gain~
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Channle reuse

[ Edited ]

Weighted means x+y and a+b+c+d

 

x+y in "general" is used to determine how much coverage your WLAN is providing on a channel.  The cov-idx is compared with the Ideal Coverage Index parameter in the GUI.

 

a+b+c+d in "general" is used to determine how much interference is on a channel.

 

 

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Channle reuse

yeah,but the a+b+c+d vlaue is over the limit of free channel Index which range is 2-20

and x+y is also over the limit of Ideal Coverge Index.

Is there any special algorithms between the a+b+c+d or x+y?

I assume log(x+y) or  log (a+b+c+d).Cause it's value is near the range.

No Pain No Gain~
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Channle reuse


zAke wrote:

yeah,but the a+b+c+d vlaue is over the limit of free channel Index which range is 2-20

and x+y is also over the limit of Ideal Coverge Index.

Is there any special algorithms between the a+b+c+d or x+y?

I assume log(x+y) or  log (a+b+c+d).Cause it's value is near the range.




a+b+c+d is interference.  It is NOT compared to coverage.  It is compared to the a+b+c+d on other channels to make sure the access point does not change to a channel that has more interference than the one it is on currently.

 

x+y indicates how much coverage your WLAN is providing on a channel.  The access point does not automatically change channel when x+y is greater than the coverage index.  It uses this to determine when there is enough or too much coverage on your WLAN on that channel.

 

There are quite a few more parameters that are considered before the access point will change channel, so no single parameter determines if an access point will change channel or not.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Channle reuse

seems I have a lot to learn and read.

Thanks for your detialed an prompt reply :-)

No Pain No Gain~
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,761
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Channle reuse

The good part is that if you just work with the default parameters, it automatically does everything.  You have to change very little.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: