Wireless Access

last person joined: 15 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Client disconnects after master-backup failover

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Client disconnects after master-backup failover

Posted Jun 10, 2013 08:44 AM

I'm setting up a proof of concept for a customer but I have a problem with the master-backup setup.

When I force a failover the AP rebootstraps. I assume this is normal behaevior. However the radio goes down for too long. The client disconnects from the ssid and even when the radio comes back up, the client stays disconnected for a while.

Is it possible to configure the radio to stay up when the master goes down? Or is there a possibility to keep the downtime of the radio to an minimum?

Information on the setup:
    The AP's are configured with a static ip and connect to the controller using the vrrp ip address.

Settings of the VRRP:
    Master:

interface vlan 1
    ip address 10.1.11.50 255.0.0.0
    !

master-redundancy
    master-vrrp 4
    peer-ip-address 10.1.11.49 ipsec dataunit
    !
    vrrp 4
    priority 110
    authentication dataunit
    ip address 10.1.11.51
    description "vrrp"
    vlan 1
    tracking master-up-time 30 add 20
    no shutdown
    !

Backup:

interface vlan 1
    ip address 10.1.11.49 255.0.0.0
    !

master-redundancy
    master-vrrp 4
    peer-ip-address 10.1.11.50 ipsec a40fa2b0c016337388d93e98742d638624f5a69beb6c8ef3
    !
    vrrp 4
    authentication dataunit
    ip address 10.1.11.51
    description "vrrp"
    vlan 1
    tracking master-up-time 30 add 20
    no shutdown
    !

• 2.  RE: Client disconnects after master-backup failover

Posted Jun 10, 2013 08:49 AM

How do you have it setup ? VRRP ? LMS ?

Hope this helps :

Failover times.png

• 3.  RE: Client disconnects after master-backup failover

Posted Jun 10, 2013 08:54 AM