Wireless Access

Reply
fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Controller SSID Pruning

[ Edited ]

Hi Guys,

 

Still playing around with Aruba 3200XM and 620 Controller.  Qn: I have 4 APs. Is it possible to have AP1 broadcast all SSIDs configured on the server except SSID1 + Have AP2 announce only SSID6 + Have AP3 announce 3 of 6 SSIDs that have been configured?

 

In other words, how do I prune some SSIDs on a given AP?

 

Regards,

fmo

MVP
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎07-26-2011

Re: Controller SSID Pruning

You could look at either creating another AP group or using the AP Specific configuration by removing/adding them from the VAP.

 

Configuration -> AP Configuration -> AP Specific

ACMA, ACMP
If my post addresses your query, give kudos:)
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,638
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Controller SSID Pruning

[ Edited ]

Are all of these APs in the same AP Group?

 

If so, you can use the "AP Specific" tab to add an Excluded Virtual AP.

 

excluded.PNG

 

If this is going to be a permanent setup, it might be better to put each variation in its own AP group.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Aruba
Posts: 1,377
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Controller SSID Pruning

I would recommend different AP groups vs. the AP specific.  Is there a reason for not broadcasting SSIDs everywhere?

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Re: Controller SSID Pruning

Sorry i took so long,

 

Yes, there is a reason. The Customer owns an Expo center and they intend to create several SSIDs for the different stands that have been setup in the center. They would like to minimize the reach of the SSIDs to particular stands only. 

 

Regards,

fmo

fmo
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-23-2013

Re: Controller SSID Pruning

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: