Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-16-2014

Controller acting as Router

Hello all.

 

Lightning had its way with my home router last night. 

 

Im trying to configure the controller (3200xm) in my lab to behave as the router. Im a Hulu only household and its nasty weather outside so this is pretty important(JK).

 

So far i am having no luck with the configuration. I have the public address and def. gateway assigned to a VLAN (999) and placed on a port. I have inter VLAN routing in place for the other VLANs and source nat enabled for 999, everything is trusted. What am i missing?

 

Im sure some of you experts can show me the way. What is the easiest way to accomplish this?

 

Many thanks for future help.

 

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Controller acting as Router

Try adding "ip nat inside" to your internal vlan interfaces.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-16-2014

Re: Controller acting as Router

Cappalli: I applied it to the internal VLANs with no luck on getting out. Ill try any other ideas as well.

 

Thanks for you time also.

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller acting as Router

Look at your show ip route
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,271
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Controller acting as Router


JonMwifi wrote:

Hello all.

 

Lightning had its way with my home router last night. 

 

Im trying to configure the controller (3200xm) in my lab to behave as the router. Im a Hulu only household and its nasty weather outside so this is pretty important(JK).

 

So far i am having no luck with the configuration. I have the public address and def. gateway assigned to a VLAN (999) and placed on a port. I have inter VLAN routing in place for the other VLANs and source nat enabled for 999, everything is trusted. What am i missing?

 

Im sure some of you experts can show me the way. What is the easiest way to accomplish this?

 

Many thanks for future help.

 

 

 

 


Johnmwifi,

 

What device is the 3200XM replacing in your existing network?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Highlighted
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Controller acting as Router

You mention that you have source NAT on VLAN 999 and that is your public IP.  You don't want source NAT enabled on your public interface; you want it enabled on your other internal VLANs.

 

My gateway is a 3200XM as well.   Relevant portions of config:

 

interface vlan 192
        ip address 192.168.13.254 255.255.255.0
        ip nat inside
        description "home-net"

!

interface vlan 470
        ip address dhcp-client
        description "xfinity-vlan"

!

interface gigabitethernet 1/3
        description "xfinity-uplink"
        trusted
        trusted vlan 1-4094
        ip access-group "XFINITY-LINK-ACL" session
        switchport access vlan 470

!

ip default-gateway import dhcp

!

ip access-list session XFINITY-LINK-ACL
  any any svc-dhcp  permit 
  any any any  deny

 

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-16-2014

Re: Controller acting as Router

Sorry for the delay in response.

 

Clembo you are a lifesaver. This got me going. I was trying to staticly set the public details and when i changed to dhcp on vlan 999 and fixed the source nat issue i got going. 

 

Again I REALLY thank you. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Controller acting as Router

[ Edited ]

Can't wait to get home and build out a new lab this weekend! Looking forward to a solid deployment for a change! 

 

Thanks!!! 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: