Wireless Access

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Controller deployment scenario#2

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Controller deployment scenario#2

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 02, 2015 01:50 AM

Hi All,

Please help me understand the below concept. I am new to wireless so please help me.

Referring to Aruba User Guide, Deployment Scenario #2.

Deployment Scenario #2: APs All on One Subnet Different from Controller Subnet

Its mentioned that the link between controller and switch should be access Vlan 1. When the traffic is tunnelled back to controller, based on AP group, controller will determine that traffic belongs to Vlan 101 (just for example), if the link is access, how can controller send out traffic to VLAN 101 ?

• 2.  RE: Controller deployment scenario#2
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 02, 2015 03:51 AM

The administrator has the option of making any port access, or making it a trunk.  The access port can pass any vlan, and the trunk can pass a number of different VLANs.  It does not just have to be VLAN 1; that is just an example.  When you define a WLAN, and the traffic is tunneled back to the controller, the user traffic can be placed on any VLAN that is on an access or trunk port connected to the controller.