Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-26-2012

Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

I have a 2 controller system the master is a 3600 running 6.3.0.0, the local is a 7210 running 6.3.0.0.

 

Currently i have 3 vlans active and only one of them will pass ip addresses through the controllers to wireless clients.

 

 

VLAN 720   10.12.20.0/24  (will pass ip addresses)

VLAN 721   10.12.21.0/24  (won't pass ip addresses)

VLAN 722   10.12.22.0/24  (won't pass ip addresses)

 

the vlan opperational state is up on the local and master controllers, it has an ip address assigned to each vlan and i have made sure that each vlan is allowed access to the virtul ap group.

 

(if more than one vlan is assigned to the virtual ap group then none of the vlan's will pass ip addresses.)

 

 

If i plug a wired laptop into a port that i have assigned switch port access to it will get the proper ip address range.

 

The DHCP server is on vlan 10

 


interface GigabitEthernet2/0/2
description ARUBA LOCAL
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
spanning-tree portfast trunk
!
interface GigabitEthernet2/0/44
description TO ARUBA MASTER CONTROLLER
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
spanning-tree portfast trunk
!
interface Vlan10
ip address 10.10.0.1 255.255.0.0
ip wccp web-cache redirect in
ip pim sparse-dense-mode
!
interface Vlan720
description ARUBA720
ip address 10.12.20.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 10.10.0.46
ip pim sparse-dense-mode
!
interface Vlan721
description ARUBA721
ip address 10.12.21.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 10.10.0.46
ip pim sparse-dense-mode
!
interface Vlan722
description ARUBA722
ip address 10.12.22.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 10.10.0.46
ip pim sparse-dense-mode

 

 

 

Any direction would be appreciated.  

Thanks,

Josh

 

 

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

 

Have you tried assigning the same VLAN to one of the controller ?

 

Can you do a show trunk on the switch and make sure that is passing correctly ?

 

Also do you have spanning tree enabled on your controller , show  spanning-tree

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

Also do a show trunk on the controller too

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-26-2012

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

MASTER CONTROLLER


Trunk Port Table
-----------------
Port Vlans Allowed Vlans Active Native Vlan
---- ------------- ------------ -----------
GE1/0 10,12,520-529,701-730 10,701-730 1

 

LOCAL CONTROLLER

 


Trunk Port Table
-----------------
Port Vlans Allowed Vlans Active Native Vlan
---- ------------- ------------ -----------
GE0/0/0 10,720-722 10,720-722 1

 

 

spanning tree is disabled on both controllers

 

the 720,721,722 vlans are assigned to both controllers

 

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

 

 

Do you have any ports available on the controller to configure it as an access port with one of those VLANs ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-26-2012

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

i have 3 i can configure on the master and one on the local

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

 

Can you run that same command "show trunk" on your uplink switch as well 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-26-2012

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

do you know the cisco command?  show trunk doesn't work.

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

 

Also from the controller can you ping the gateway of the those VLANs ?

 

Try:

 

show int trunk

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-26-2012

Re: Controller doesn't seem to pass ip addresses from various vlans

Port        Vlans allowed and active in management domain

Gi2/0/2 1,10-12,20,30,40,50,70,80,90-93,110,120-126,130,140,150,160,170,210, 220,230,240,250,260,270,280,290,320,330,340,350,370,380,510,520,540,580,620,630, 650,720-730,920,930,940,950,960,970,980

 

Gi2/0/44 1,10-12,20,30,40,50,70,80,90-93,110,120-126,130,140,150,160,170,210, 220,230,240,250,260,270,280,290,320,330,340,350,370,380,510,520,540,580,620,630, 650,720-730,920,930,940,950,960,970,980

 

Port Vlans in spanning tree forwarding state and not pruned

Gi2/0/2 1,10-12,20,30,40,50,70,80,90-93,110,120-126,130,140,150,160,170,210, 220,230,240,250,260,270,280,290,320,330,340,350,370,380,510,520,540,580,620,630, 650,720-730,920,930,940,950,960,970,980

 

Gi2/0/44 1,10-12,20,30,40,50,70,80,90-93,110,120-126,130,140,150,160,170,210, 220,230,240,250,260,270,280,290,320,330,340,350,370,380,510,520,540,580,620,630, 650,720-730,920,930,940,950,960,970,980

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: