Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

DHCP Fingerprint and PS3

Hi all,

I have a bunch of fingerprints working but can't seem to figure out why the PS3 won't fingerprint. I lifted the dhcp-option from the debug just like the guide said but still can't get the fingerprint to work. Anyone have a PS3 fingerprint that they can send along?

 

Here is what I've been trying: debug first than the line in the dev rule:

 

Jun 13 21:21:49 :202536:  <DBUG> |dhcpdwrap| |dhcp| Datapath vlan986: REQUEST 28:0d:fc:70:5f:e0 reqIP=10.24.4.28 Options 36:0a01ff15 37:01030f06 3d:01280dfc705fe0 3c:50533300

 

set role condition dhcp-option starts-with "01030f06" set-value xxx-wifixxx-mobile description "Playstation"

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,288
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3


bhubert wrote:

Hi all,

I have a bunch of fingerprints working but can't seem to figure out why the PS3 won't fingerprint. I lifted the dhcp-option from the debug just like the guide said but still can't get the fingerprint to work. Anyone have a PS3 fingerprint that they can send along?

 

Here is what I've been trying: debug first than the line in the dev rule:

 

Jun 13 21:21:49 :202536:  <DBUG> |dhcpdwrap| |dhcp| Datapath vlan986: REQUEST 28:0d:fc:70:5f:e0 reqIP=10.24.4.28 Options 36:0a01ff15 37:01030f06 3d:01280dfc705fe0 3c:50533300

 

set role condition dhcp-option starts-with "01030f06" set-value xxx-wifixxx-mobile description "Playstation"


In that case, your "starts-with" would be "3701030f06".  You have to remove the colon and concatenate (combine) the 37 with the rest of the string.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,648
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3

I lifted the same fingerprint for PS3 and I cannot get it to work either. I'm still using MAC OUIs for the time being.

 

My XBOX fingerprint is working great (370103060f).


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,288
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3


timcappalli wrote:

I lifted the same fingerprint for PS3 and I cannot get it to work either. I'm still using MAC OUIs for the time being.

 

My XBOX fingerprint is working great (370103060f).


Tim,

 

What did you observe for the PS3 Fingerprint?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,648
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3

When I look in the controller under Authentication > User Rules, that dhcp-option rule has 0 hits and the mac address rules have quite a few. The dhcp-option rule is at the top of the list.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,288
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3

I meant, how did you discover the DHCP fingerprint for the PS3?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,648
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3

I used the same debug process as the original post and also verified with Wireshark running on the DHCP server.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,288
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: I liRe: DHCP Fingerprint and PS3


timcappalli wrote:

I used the same debug process as the original post and also verified with Wireshark running on the DHCP server.


Okay.  Well we need to find out why it is not working.  There are sometimes 3 parameters that are part of the signatures and the key is to choose the right one and the right format.  If you did a capture and/or DHCP debugging you might have what you need, but the format may be incorrect.  Please consult the document here:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/wp-content/uploads/AOS-DHCP-FingerPrint-AppNote.pdf to ensure that the right parameter is being used.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: