Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Device connected but can't pass traffic

Hi,

 

I saw last week two cases of devices connected to the wifi network but can't communicate and on the taskbar it says limited connection.

 

When I checked the ip address information on the device all is correct (ip/netmask/gateway,dns) but on the user table on the controller the same ip address is already used by an other device with different mac address and the age time is more than 24h. I deleted the old user on the controller and the device started passing traffic. 

 

So, the issue is the user is not deleted from the user table on the controller when the entry is outdated. On the controllers, I can see many entries like that, I guess all the devices connected with those ip addresses are not able to pass traffic.

 

Is there any way to flush the user table of those aged entries like the dhcp does?

 

Thanks. 

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

 

What code are you running ?

 

What AP is the device connected to ?

 

Is it only happening to one particular device or several?

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

Hi,

 

Sorry, the code is 6.1.2.4 and the APs are 105.

The two cases i mentioned were on two different devices (W7 and Chrome OS).

 

Thanks.

 

 

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

 

Do you use VLAN pooling ? if you do how do you have it set it up? Even or Hash?

 

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

 

Also are you doing IP Mobility between controllers ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

Do you use VLAN pooling ? if you do how do you have it set it up? Even or Hash?

Yes, we are using VLAN pooling. It should be Hash because we are running 6.1.2.4. 

 

 

Thanks.

 

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

Also are you doing IP Mobility between controllers ?

No.

MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

 

Have you changed the idle timeout settings ?

 

do a show aaa timers 

 

And if you haven't I think you should open a TAC case 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic

Hi Victor,

 

I did not change the timers.

 

(wifi_master) #show aaa timers

User idle timeout = 1800 seconds
Auth Server dead time = 10 minutes
Logon user lifetime = 5 minutes
User Interim stats frequency = 300 seconds

 

I am planning to upgrade to 6.1.3.6-AirGroup to integrate AirGroup in our environment. If the issue is not resolved with the new AOS, i will open a TAC case.

 

Thanks a lot for your help.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,291
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Device connected but can't pass traffic


Mario12 wrote:

Hi,

 

I saw last week two cases of devices connected to the wifi network but can't communicate and on the taskbar it says limited connection.

 

When I checked the ip address information on the device all is correct (ip/netmask/gateway,dns) but on the user table on the controller the same ip address is already used by an other device with different mac address and the age time is more than 24h. I deleted the old user on the controller and the device started passing traffic. 

 

So, the issue is the user is not deleted from the user table on the controller when the entry is outdated. On the controllers, I can see many entries like that, I guess all the devices connected with those ip addresses are not able to pass traffic.

 

Is there any way to flush the user table of those aged entries like the dhcp does?

 

Thanks. 


Mario,

 

Please use AAA fast age to age out those entries:

 

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Command-of-the-Day/COTD-aaa-user-fast-age/td-p/4098



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: