Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-10-2016

Enabling channel automatic switch

Hi,

 

We have a "basic" solution based on Power Connect 3600 with Aruba 6.4 and several AP 105.

All APs seem to "listen" on the default 11 channel, wich is frequently used by others foreign APs.

 

When using show ap monitor ap-list ap-name AP we can see different foreign access point that seem to interfer with Aruba APs.

 

d0:ae:ec:70:9c:45  Livebox-4774   11    interfering  80211b/g-HT-20  disable  57886/57886  0/0      wpa-psk-tkip    0      7        7         87        88         1      no    0
54:22:f8:0c:aa:9c  Livebox-AA9C   11    interfering  80211b/g-HT-20  disable  57885/57885  0/0      wpa-psk-tkip    0      8        9         86        86         0      no    0
18:64:72:6d:74:04  TEST           1     valid        80211b/g-HT-20  disable  20181/588    15/0     wpa2-psk-aes    0      13       12        82        83         0      no    0

 

or see attachement.

 

 

Is there any automatic system enabled to switch between channels ?

How can we check that the channel "choice" is optimal ?

 

BR,

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,960
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Enabling channel automatic switch

http://community.arubanetworks.com/aruba/attachments/aruba/70/1204/1/ARM+Doc+Supplement.pdf


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-10-2016

Re: Enabling channel automatic switch

Thanks for this doc.

It seems that all of the default configuration is already "doing the job", i was just seeking where could be the channel threshold that could trigger a channel switch.

 

ARM seems to be correctly default configured, but we have already seen a "full" channel activity without any switch.

 

Amybe a loadbalancing pb ?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,960
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Enabling channel automatic switch

In the ARM profile, I would try unchecking "client aware". If client aware is checked, the access point will not change channel if there is active client activity on them.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: