Wireless Access

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Error:RC_ERROR_IKEV2_TIMEOUT. - AP Will Reboot

This thread has been viewed 14 times
  • 1.  Error:RC_ERROR_IKEV2_TIMEOUT. - AP Will Reboot

Posted Feb 03, 2016 03:00 PM
      |   view attached

I have a master/local setup.  Two 3600 controllers running 6.4.2.14 and housing only 105 and 205 APs.  All of the APs terminate on the local which is located at the data center.  The master is at our corporate office.

Can someone explain what these errors mean?  (see attached)  They were pulled from my master controller for a specific AP however this is affecting all APs at a particular office (5 total).  We are having no other problems elsewhere.

#AP205

Attachment(s)

txt
    MAContErrors.txt   33 KB 1 version

• 2.  RE: Error:RC_ERROR_IKEV2_TIMEOUT. - AP Will Reboot

Posted Feb 07, 2016 04:54 PM

never seen it myself but i could imagine that you are blocking some traffic which the AP requires to build its tunnel (are you using control plane security)? so look at the firewall rules / networks in between.

• 3.  RE: Error:RC_ERROR_IKEV2_TIMEOUT. - AP Will Reboot

Posted Feb 08, 2016 11:43 AM

I figured it out.  We use UTMs at small remote sites for our Firwalls and routing.  They build their own VPN tunnel back to our data center over a standard Cable or DSL ISP.  The APs have trouble holding the GRE tunnels over UTMs and the tunnels break. 

In this particular instance, the local AP would reach back to the master controller via DNS under the default profile.  The master controller would give it it's AP Group and reboot the AP extablishing it's GRE tunnel and pointing it to a local LMS controller.   The AP was having trouble establishing a GRE tunnel through the UTM and would revert back to the master controller.