Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Evil Twin, controller, Airwave, and SIEM logging

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Evil Twin, controller, Airwave, and SIEM logging

Posted Mar 25, 2016 11:30 AM

Hello, I am a recovering Cisco wireless user abuser. I am new to my organization and new to Aruba/Airwave. I seem to have an issue and I have found some suggested documents to read but I thought I'd throw this out now. I set up an evil twin to test the controller and Airwave rules. The controller sees my evil twin SSID - this is the SSID I use to connect to it. However, I set it up to broadcast out any/all other SSID's it sees being broadcast; I'll call them "fake SSID" - there are around 15 different ones. Niether the controller nor Airwave can detect those fake SSIDs. Also, non of the rogues I set up are getting logged into our SIEM - QRadar.

Would anyone have some suggestions, thoughts, ideas, or be able to point me in the direction to help us detect the Evil Twin and get this logged into our SIEM?

• 2.  RE: Evil Twin, controller, Airwave, and SIEM logging

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 25, 2016 11:33 AM

If you have the RF Protect license in your controller, you would be configuring impersonation parameters:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_64x_WebHelp/Web_Help_Index.htm#ArubaFrameStyles/New_WIP/Intrusion_Detection.htm?Highlight=impersonation

• 3.  RE: Evil Twin, controller, Airwave, and SIEM logging

Posted Mar 25, 2016 11:37 AM

We do have the protect license so I will check out your link and see how things are configured. I should say, our network team handles all the controller settings - I am IT Security.

Thanks for your input.

• 4.  RE: Evil Twin, controller, Airwave, and SIEM logging

Posted Apr 04, 2016 11:54 AM