Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2014

Having problem creating the LACP port

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

 

I have problem creating the LACP interface in Aruba switch, below is my configuration:

 

(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (config) #interface-profile lacp-profile LACP_23
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (LACP "LACP_23") #Group-id 23
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (LACP "LACP_23") #mode active
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (LACP "LACP_23") #exit
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (config) #interface gigabitethernet 4/1/0
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (gigabitethernet "4/1/0") #lacp-profile LACP_23
Error: Interface is configured with non-default switching profile

 

(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (gigabitethernet "4/1/0") #exit
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (config) #interface gigabitethernet 4/1/1
(GALLERY-SC-L1R-S01) (gigabitethernet "4/1/1") #lacp-profile LACP_23
Error: Interface is configured with non-default switching profile

 

This is a stacked Aruba switches (AOS ver 7.3.1.0) with four 48-port S3500 switches and one 24-port S3500 switch, the port 4/1/0 and 4/1/1 are the uplink ports which is on the 24P switch (Linecard of the stacking).

 

Please advise what's going wrong with this LACP configuration? Thanks in advance!

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2014

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

I guess I have figured out the reason why it's not working, please see below configs I did on the GE4/1/0 and GE4/1/1.

 

Interface-profile switching-profile TRUNK
Switchport-mode trunk
Trunk allowed vlan all
Exit

Interface-profile lacp-profile LACP_23
Group-id 23
Mode active
exit

 

Interface-group gigabitethernet Uplink
Apply-to 4/1/0,4/1/1
Switching-profile TRUNK
Lacp-profile LACP_23
Exit

 

I firstly configured the 4/1/0 and 4/1/1 as the trunk port which is a MUST to change the default switching-profile to the TRUNK (named by myself) swithcing-profile, and this causes the LACP profile not able to be applied on these two ports.

 

I tried the exactly same configuration on another switch WITHOUT inroducing the trunk port, and the LACP is working fine.

 

The problem now is that, for my Arista MLAG setup, I must have both TRUNK + LACP configuration on these two uplink ports, and it looks like it's not possible to be done on the aruba switch, please advise any solution for this?

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2014

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

I am familiar in Cisco equipment and have achieved my CCIE for years.

 

However, I am a newbie to Aruba stuff which I only started to deal with from last month.

 

In Cisco, just two simple setps to achieve what I want in this scenario:

 

Interface range gi4/1/0 - 4/1/1

channel-group 23 mode active

 

interface port-channel 23

switchport mode trunk

 

That's all, a LACP port-channel with Trunk is now configured on the Cisco switch. 

 

Please kindly show me what's the equivlent commands on the Aruba S3500 switches, thanks all!

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,323
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

If you are tagging multiple VLANs then you need the trunk interface
configuration.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

Parry,

LACP members cannot be part of an interface group. Once an interface is a member of LAG, it no longer inherits any config from interface-group it’s part of so you shouldn't configure them using groups. This is how they should be configured:

 

!
interface-profile lldp-profile "LLDP-CDP-ENABLE"
   lldp transmit
   lldp receive
   med enable
   proprietary-neighbor-discovery

!

interface-profile switching-profile "WIRED-VLAN-10"
   access-vlan 10

!
interface-profile lacp-profile "PORT-CHANNEL-0"
   group-id 0
   mode active
   timeout short

!
interface gigabitethernet "0/0/12"
   lldp-profile "LLDP-CDP-ENABLE"
   lacp-profile "PORT-CHANNEL-0"
!
interface gigabitethernet "0/0/13"
   lldp-profile "LLDP-CDP-ENABLE"
   lacp-profile "PORT-CHANNEL-0"
!
interface port-channel "0"
   switching-profile "WIRED-VLAN-10"

!

 

But in your case, the switching profile of port-channel 0 would be a Trunk.

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2014

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

Excellent, it works now!  Thanks a lot mad.

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

No problem, any time!

 

M.

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

Sorry for reviving an old thread, but could you please clarify : Do I need to create a new port channel for each IAP? 

 

Thanks

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,323
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Having problem creating the LACP port

Yes, you do. Port-channels/trunks/LAGs can only be between two devices. Each IAP needs a port-channel/trunk/LAG.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: