Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

[ Edited ]

A Cisco switch can utilize CDP with a probe/mib to identify Cisco APs and switch port they are plugged into. How can I accomplish that with Aruba APs?

Cisco and Extreme switches are in place with Aruba 3400 controllers and a mix of APs.

InterMapper is in place as a monitoring system.

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,337
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

LLDP is the standards-based version of CDP. You can enable it on your APs under the ethernet port configuration.

 

lldp-ap.PNG


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor I
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

Thank you for the fast reply! I do not appear to have that option. Code version 6.1.3.7. Do I need to enable it elsewhere first?

 

I have tried print screen and Snip but cannot seem to get the screen shot in here. I see you had no problem...

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

On the controller side, you have to enable lldp under each interface:

 

lldp.JPG

 

 

Contributor I
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

You gave me a picture and I still can't do it.

(EC-Controller) (config) #interface gigabitethernet 1/3
(EC-Controller) (config-if)#?
description             Interface Specific description
duplex                  Configure duplex Operation
ip                      Interface Internet Protocol config commands
lacp                    LACP interface commands
no                      Delete Command
port                    Perform switch port configuration
priority-map            Priority Map Configuration.
shutdown                Shut down the selected interface
spanning-tree           Spanning Tree subsystem
speed                   Configure Speed Operation
switchport              Set the switching mode characteristics
trusted                 Make this a trusted port
tunneled-node-port      Enable/Disable tunneled node functionality on the
                        port.

Contributor I
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

(EC-Controller) (config-if)#lldp ?

(EC-Controller) (config-if)#lldp

Contributor II
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

I don't think the version you are running supports it. I am on 6.4.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,337
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

AP LLDP support was added in 6.3.

 

 

What are you trying to show on the controller? Didn't you say you wanted to see the information on your edge switches?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor I
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: How can I find AP's and show me the iFalias/port they are in like Cisco CDP?

Using InterMapper, and the Cisco-Stack mib/probe, I can see all Cisco APs attached to that switch (CDP). (If I could insert a picture it might be easier to see.) Then I can set their ID on the port in the edge switch and display them on the building map.

I would like the same functionality for Aruba APs.

 

[How are you getting screenshots in here? I keep getting Message cannot exceed 30,000 characters.]

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: