Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

Hi

 

I have found how to create a TIME RANGE under Security > Access Control > Time Range, however I do not know how to apply this Time Range to either a specific VLAN or WLAN or User Role.  I only want to apply it to the Guest Portal and not our WLANs we use for access to our domain.

 

Any advice would be apprecaited.


Thanks...

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

[ Edited ]

If you want to only have a WLAN available for a particular period of Time, you would configure a "Deny" time range (when you do not want anyone to connect), then you would insert that in the Virtual AP under Deny Time Range.  Configuration> Wireless> AP Configuration.  Edit your ap-group.  Expand Wireless LAN.  Expand Virtual AP.  Click on the virtual AP you want to apply it to.  In the right pane insert your deny time range in the Deny Time Range field and click on apply in the lower right hand corner.

 

Remember, the Deny Time range is the range when you want traffic to be Denied, not allowed...  Also make sure the time on the controller is set correctly, to avoid any issues.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

[ Edited ]

ok, great that makes sense.

 

I'm in the Time Range configuration now -

 

How would I set this up in Time Range?

 

I want to turn off a WLAN from 7pm - 7am each weekday + all weekend?

 

i just tried adding a weekend time range, but when i hit apply it just dissapears?

 

thanks in advance

 

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

Add a periodic range on all weekdays from 19:00 - 23:59 and 00:00 to 07:00.  Also, add a range for all weekend days.  Make sure you save that time range with a name such as "no_WLAN_access".  Then, as Cjoseph said, go into the VAP for that SSID and select the time range above from the Deny Time Range drop down box.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

I just noticed you other issue (where the time range just disappears).

 

Make sure you click Add on the main Time Range screen to start configuring a new range.  Click the periodic button, then enter a name for the range.  Click the add button, fill in the range info and click done.  Once that is done, click add again and put the next range in and click done.  Once you have all of the range info entered, click apply.  The time range should be created now.  All thats left to do add it to the VAP and save the configuration.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

[ Edited ]

done that thanks, but when I click apply it just dissappears, any ideas?

 

Just done it  again and checked they all appeared in the 'show commands' view below

 

i then click apply and it deletes all my entries.

 

attached is a screenshot

Capture.JPG

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

Are you sure you clicked the "Done" button before you click the "Apply" button?  If you click the "Apply" button before you click "Done", the changes wont be saved and the Time Range wont exist.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

[ Edited ]

made a slight mistake above used daily instead of weekend, started again see below

 

time range problem.jpg

Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

No, didn't see that.  Sorry.

 

Can you log into the CLI and issue the commands shown in the lower window?  That should give us an idea why these are getting rejected.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: How do I set TIME RANGES on a Aruba 3600 (6.1.2)

haven't done this before - see below- is that correct?

 

time range problem 2.JPG

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: