Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

How i can see the AP Signal Strength in dbm when ARM is running

Hi,

can anybody help me  to find the signal strength in dbm for an running Accesspoint 105 with ARM enabled.

I have used the folloowing cli command -- #show ap arm history ap-name xxxx-ap1 

 

Output:

Interface :wifi0

ARM History

-----------

Time of Change       Old Channel  New Channel  Old Power  New Power  Reason

--------------       -----------  -----------  ---------  ---------  ------

2013-10-25 16:04:54  132+         36+          24         24         I

2013-10-21 13:11:40  132+         132+         21         24         P+

2013-10-21 13:07:12  132+         132+         18         21         P+

....................

I: Interference, R: Radar detection, N: Noise exceeded, E: Error threshold exceeded, INV: Invalid Channel, G: Rogue AP Containment, M: Empty Channel, P+: Increase Power, P-: Decrease Power, OFF: Turn off Radio,

 

What is the value from Old/New Power for a definition -- is that DB, DBM, mWatt ............

 

Many thanks for your help.

Cheers Roland

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: How i can see the AP Signal Strength in dbm when ARM is running

"show ap arm rf-summary ap-name <your ap name>" will show you the current arm assignment which will include the channel and power in dbm.

MVP
Posts: 4,272
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: How i can see the AP Signal Strength in dbm when ARM is running

 

If you run the following command you could see it :

The EIRP is in dB 

show ap active 

 

Active AP Table
---------------
Name                     Group         IP Address   11g Clients  11g Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP  11a Clients  11a Ch/EIRP/MaxEIRP  AP Type  Flags  Uptime           Outer IP
----                     -----         ----------   -----------  -------------------  -----------  -------------------  -------  -----  ------           --------
test-225-3               Feldberg-106  10.66.8.153  1            AP:HT:1/9/21         1            AP:HT:36+/15/21      225      Ada    18d:13h:19m:22s

 

(controller) #show  ap  arm rf-summary ap-name test-225-3


HT Channel Summary
------------------
channel_pair  Pairwise_intf_index
------------  -------------------
149-153       53
36-40         31
157-161       57
44-48         48

Interface Name           :wifi0
Current ARM Assignment   :36+/15
Covered channels a/g     :3/0
Free channels a/g        :5/0
ARM Edge State           :enable
Last check channel/pwr   :5m:47s/3m:1s
Last change channel/pwr  :2h:11m:22s/1h:17m:36s
Next Check channel/pwr   :48s/3m:1s
Assignment Mode          :Single Band

Interface Name           :wifi1
Current ARM Assignment   :1/9
Covered channels a/g     :0/2
Free channels a/g        :0/1
ARM Edge State           :enable
Last check channel/pwr   :1m:17s/1m:17s
Last change channel/pwr  :1m:17s/1m:17s
Next Check channel/pwr   :4m:55s/6m:7s
Assignment Mode          :Single Band

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2013

Re: How i can see the AP Signal Strength in dbm when ARM is running

Hi

tbeachwcu, victorfabian

Thats the solutions - Many thanks for your help

 

Greetings Roland

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: