Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2014

How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

Hello
In a small school building we have AP-93 but that device can't cover all classrooms . Someone decided to buy few TL-WA850RE to extend range of WiFi. Unfortunately I was unable to find how to connect both devices based on documentation "Aruba Instant User Guide". I had to switch off "ARM" functionality in AP-93 because with this functionality TL-WA850RE could not connect to AP-93. Now it looks that TL-WA850RE can connect to AP-93 but any other client can not connect to AP-93 through TL-WA850RE.
Maybe I should switch off IDS on AP-93 ?
Could you please help me and suggest how to configure AP-93 with four TL-WA850RE ?

Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

Krakow4

Try the following. If this is an Instant AP, edit the network, choose advanced on the first tab at the bottom, then under the heading of Broadcast/Multicast set the drop down for "Broadcast Filtering" to none (default is arp). If this is campus AP, then there is a similar option under the ssid profile.

regards

-jeff

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2014

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

Thank you for your suggestion.

I described your advices to our administrator but it looks that our aruba is configured as a campus AP our admin can't find such options.
Do we have any other possibility?
Regards.

Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

[ Edited ]

hi Krakow4

 

uhh, sorry, I told you to look in the wrong place in the case of campus AP, it's under the virtual ap profile (not the SSID profile).

 

Please see attached image to give you a hint.

 

You should only turn these filters off on the virtual AP that you are using the bridge device, otherwise you may allow too much junk from the LAN to be broadcast out to the WLAN.

 

regards

-jeff

 

 

 

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

might not be what you want to hear but just buy more APs and not range extenders or stuff like that.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2014

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

Hello.
Thank you for advices (regarding the last one --- I'm from Poland and I do it as a voluntary in a small school in small village. So there is no budget no money, etc.... )
After changes which were proposed by I can connect to AP-93 but I can't route/connect to interent.
I thought that it is because IDS and options such as Deny Inter User Bridging and Deny Local Routing but after change settings to Disable I still have the same problem.
Can you please help me with this issue?
 
PS.:
As I mentioned before it is Campus AP but I don't have access I have to forward your answers to owner of this installation.
Moderator
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: How to connect TL-WA850RE to AP-93

hi krakow4

 

does the end device get an ip address?

is the DHCP allocation correct at the client (dns, def gw, etc.)

does it appear in the usertable (show user) on the controller with that IP address / mac address ?

can it ping the default gateway ?

ping the def gw and collect "show datapath session table <ip of client>" -- do you see the traffic

 

regards

-jeff

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: