Wireless Access

Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

How to create a Captive Portal

Hi,

 

I try to make a CP but it won't work, even when I follow the steps with the "DG_WLAN_Secure_Guest_Access_ArubaOS25".

 

It's for a customer with a LDAP connection between the AD and controller (W3400 6.1.2.4) the user need to use the portal for access the network.

 

Does anybody as easy steps to follow and build a PC from the start??

 

Thanks,

 

Danny

Danny

SE @ Dell
Networking Domain
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,591
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

When you say it won't work, did you get it to broadcast?  Can the user associate and get an ip address?  Where are you stuck?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

The users gets a IP address but there is no redirect to the portal.

Loopback address is also set and default gateway.

What I did was using the WLAN and LAN config. All VLANs where in place, also the DHCP server for the VLANs (where I needed).

 

The users are Internal user with a LDAP but they must use a portal.

 

Thx

 

Danny

Danny

SE @ Dell
Networking Domain
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,591
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

Okay.  Can the user resolve any ip addresses when connected?  Try doing an NSLOOKUP.  DNS resolution is key.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 933
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

The guide that you followed is very old and was written for OS version 2.5!

I would check the aaa profile in the guest VAP. The initial role should be guest-login by default which if you edit the role you should see that it has a captive portal set. If not assign the default one just to test.

Also verify what role you are getting when you associate to the guest network.

To be honest, I'd suggest that you use the WLAN wizard to create a new guest network and troubleshoot that rather than create one manually using a guide that is years out of date. :-)

James
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

It was create by the wizard and afterwards checked with the Guide. because the wizard creation didn't work.

 

I just clean the config (factory default) and build it up and still the same.

 

 

Danny

SE @ Dell
Networking Domain
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,591
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

Can the user resolve DNS?  What operating system and browser are being used?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

Here is a reference you can use for building the GUEST VAP.  This is only snippets of configuration but it should provide enough info to build the Gust with Captive-Portal.

 

netdestination ENTERPRISE

    network 10.0.0.0 255.0.0.0

    network 172.16.0.0 255.240.0.0

    network 192.168.0.0 255.255.0.0

    !

ip access-list session GUEST_ACL

    user any udp 68 deny

    any any svc-dhcp permit

    any alias ENTERPRISE any deny

    any any any permit

    !

user-role guest

    session-acl GUEST_ACL position 1

    !

aaa authentication captive-portal GUEST

    default-role guest

    server-group internal

    redirect-pause 3

    welcome-page http://www.arubanetworks.com/

    no logout-popup-window

    !

user-role PRE_GUEST

    session-acl logon-control

    session-acl captiveportal

    captive-portal GUEST

    !

aaa profile GUEST

    initial-role PRE_GUEST

    !

wlan ssid-profile GUEST

    essid GUEST

    opmode open

    !

wlan virtual-ap GUEST

    aaa-profile GUEST

    ssid-profile GUEST

    vlan 666

    forward-mode tunnel

    !

 

-michael

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

We just found some problem with CP on 6.1.2.4 which may lead to similar problem as yours..

You may try to ping the gateway to see whether you can reach it 1st.

If you fail to ping the gateway but IP was allocated, check which AP your client connected

and reboot the AP. We found that some AP will have such problem after we upgrade to 6.1.2.4.

Right after the reboot, you can try to ping again. You should be able to ping the gateway with 50% or

more success rate. You can then login through CP and it seems much better after login.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,591
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to create a Captive Portal

Johnny, you are missing alot of detail, including how frequently this happens.  Are you sure this can be tied to 6.1.2.4 specifically, because there are quite a few installations of 6.1.2.4 where this works.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: