Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

How to enable 300mbps speed on AP105

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  How to enable 300mbps speed on AP105

Posted Dec 08, 2016 10:48 AM

Hi Guys, 

Apologies, I am new here. I have a query with regards to our Aruba Wireless Controllers and AP105's at our company. I have never used Aruba before so I am still trying to get my footing. The query is this;

We are broadcasting an SSID over our wireless that is transmitting data at a max speed of 54mbps. We know we can get at least 300mbps using our AP105s, so we want to use mixed mode so that those devices that can only get 54mbps use that, but devices that can take the higher transmission rate will benefit from the up to 300mpbs.

I have looked into configuring this and it looks like you have to enable WPA2 to get access to those higher speeds but in order to enable that mode you need to create 802.1X Authentication Profile and server in the AAA profiles with termination ticked. Now I have done this the SSID is broadcasting but when i connect its asking for EAP method - which I am now lost and don't know what to do next since I dont know how to configure those methods. 

Is there a way to increase the speed without this, or do I need a certificate or something to authenticate against?

Kind Regards, 

• 2.  RE: How to enable 300mbps speed on AP105

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 08, 2016 10:58 AM

If you are using tkip or wep, your speed is limited to 54 as per the standard.

• 3.  RE: How to enable 300mbps speed on AP105

Posted Dec 08, 2016 11:04 AM